Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Light This City: The Hero Cycle

Metal band Light This City's debut The Hero Cycle is being reissued by Prosthetic Records; I suspect this one would be popular with their fans as Light This City broke up in 2008, just before the release of their fourth CD titled Stormchaser.

The Hero Cycle was originally recorded in 2003, with the line-up being Laura Nichol, who is the pissed off screaming vocalist, Ben Murray plays the drums and guitar, Mike Dias on bass and Steven Shirley also handles the guitar.

"Apostate" is an explosive introduction to The Hero Cycle, as Light This City dish out a ballistic brew of thrash,hardcore and death metal. The Hero Cycle is an intense CD, with the ten tracks flying by fairly quickly. Honestly, that was enough time spent listening, as The Hero Cycle is a good effort for a young band, but after a few spins sorry to say I was looking for something else to put on.

Extreme metal fans who want to hear a young band showing what they can do should take a listen; otherwise there are better options than The Hero Cycle.

Track List:
2.Picture: Start
3.Give Up
4.Parisian Sun
5.Cold (At The Gates cover)
6.Laid To Rest
8.No Solace In Sleep
9.The Weight Of Glory
10.Next To Godliness

Added: January 21st 2010
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2114
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by