Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Drawn and Quartered: Assault of Evil (DVD)

DVDs are something I rarely get to review, which is a good thing for me since I need an empty house to work on it. I feel like being a movie critic while working on this type of release. Well, I finally got both, nobody home and the courage to go through this in one sitting. Drawn and Quartered is an American four piece band composing some brutal Death Metal with a slight Black Metal flavor. Assault of Evil is divided into three segments. First, the Assault of Evil 2008 US tour. Second, three music videos, and then you have Bonus Footage, actually four bootlegs of live performances done in the States. The first part is not too bad sound and picture wise. Man does this vocalist have long hair and a deep guttural voice! The musicianship is excellent. You have one single guitar player handling both rhythm and lead/solo; backed by a five strings bassist and a powerful drummer. Sometimes, there are psychedelic images; a pretty cool effect. All in all, a pleasant live performance. The videos are what I enjoyed the most. You can clearly hear their playing. "Orgiastic Feast of Excremental Blasphemy" is in fact a low budget cartoon that is both comical and blasphemous. As for the bootlegs, well they are basically of low quality, sound and image wise, footages done in small venues, where you can hear many times the same songs being played like: " Open Mind" " Machete Blood Bath", "Christian Extinction" and " Mangled Beyond Recognition". Unfortunately, those footages last a bit more than two hours!

I'm no fan of this band, but these guys can play, especially the guitar player. Nearly three hours of this is for their followers though.

Track listing:
Assault of Evil US Tour
1 Nighthoul of the Graveyards
2 Merciless Hammer of Lucifer
3 Worshippers of Total Death
4 Until They Cease to Bleed
5 Escape to Cremation
6 Embrace of Darkness
7 Hail Infernal Darkness
Music Videos
1 Merciless Hammer of Lucifer
2 Hail Infernal Darkness
3 Orgiastic Feast of Excremental Blasphemy
Bonus Footage :
1 Worshippers of Total Death
2 The Ovens Await
3 Ministry of Torture
4 Carnal Copulation
5 Open Mind
6 Machete Bloodbath
7 To Kill is Human
8 Incinerated Faithful
9 Christian Extinction
10- Mangled Beyond Recognition
11 Machete Bloodbath
12 The Hills Run Red
13 Open Mind
14 Carnal Copulation
15 To Kill is Human
16 Implements of Hell
17 Christian Extinction
18 Punishment of Burning Torment
19 Mangled Beyond Recognition
20 Carnal Copulation
21 Broken on the Wheel
22 Ministry of Torture
23 Mangled Beyond Recognition
24 Christian Extinction

Added: January 16th 2010
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Moribund Cult
Hits: 2178
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by