Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Electric Sorcery: II

Electric Sorcery are a Northern Vermont trio and have just released their second album, the aptly titled II. The band consists of Derek Campbell (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Micah Carbonneau (drums, percussion) and Luke Laplant (E.W.I., baritone sax, keyboards). These guys are veterans of the Vermont music scene having played in various bands such as Bootyjuice, Viscus, Cobalt Blue, The Myra Flynn Trio, Money Jungle and Hoochie Lumbardo.

Electric Sorcery takes psychedelic music firmly rooted in the 70s and adds their own special twist. Bands like Iron Butterfly and the Jimi Hendrix Experience came to mind while listening to this but Electric Sorcery really do have their own sound. Funky rhythms and psychedelic guitar riffs come together to create an intriguing sound that is sometimes very heavy. Their densely layered music is due in part to their use of bizarre electronic sounds. Of course guitar is vital to any psych band and this one has it in spades. There are many excellent moments of psychedelic guitar goodness throughout the CD. The vocals of Derek Campbell also serve the music well as his rich soulful voice adds another dimension to the band's sound.

The CD begins with "Three Eyes" and its punk rock beginning before morphing into a sort of 60s spy music melody with a reggae beat. This is funky groove laden music where you will hear screaming guitars amidst off kilter percussion and blasts of saxophone. The frantic instrumentation of "Horpus Richter" exudes energy with crashing guitar chords and furious drumming. This song has an underlying electronic nuance that gives it a strong psychedelic edge much like the rest of the album. "The Urge" has the band going into Iron Butterfly territory with heavy riffs and carries a slightly ominous tone. It even has rap vocal sections that surprisingly work for me. One of my favourites is the trippy "Konsequench" where soulful vocals are laid over a funky bass line and psychedelic guitar noodling. Ending the album is "Inkriminated" where catchy riffs and neat electronic sounds mesh together in full psychedelic bliss. Also included are heavy ska-like rhythms and a dynamic sax solo. This is dynamic stuff indeed.

So there you have it. This is a fun listen and anyone who gravitates towards the psychedelic sounds of the 70s needs to hear this disc pronto. Enough said.

Track Listing:
1. Three Eyes
2. Horpus Richter
3. Deeper
4. S.O.B.
5. The Urge
6. Konsequench
7. Little Warrior
8. Year of the Eel
9. Apparition
10. Inkriminated

Added: January 10th 2010
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2351
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by