Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Futures End: Memoirs Of A Broken Man

The story is about a man who has returned from war only to only to fall into despair because of the things that he has done and seen. Withdrawing into a world of alcohol where he is the only inhabitant. Pushing everyone out after the suicide of his lone friend, he finally falls so far that the only way to go is up…will he make it? That is what you will have to find out from the metal storytelling of this very talented band.

Fred Marshall on vocals, Marc Pattison on guitar, Christian Wentz on guitar, Steve DiGiorgio on bass and Jon Allen on drums make up the band. This group of players come from some very elite backgrounds. You can list the groups, Iced Earth, Testament, Circle II Circle, Zero Hour and Sadus on their résumés. Together they create a very interesting concept piece which is as intellectually challenging as it is musically enticing.

The band starts you out with the unnerving "Relentless Chaos" which is just what the name implies and where our story begins. This group of musicians are really magical in their ability to create the proper mood for what they are trying to convey. The main reason they can pull it off is how well the twin guitarist are together and their talent of taking metal and forming it much like a silversmith applies his craft. On a song like "Forsaken" it is amazing how a guitar solo has such an ability to help tell the story. Not often do you hear music that is so spot on in a concept piece.

There is also such a keen sense of melody that a song like "Stand To Fall" becomes a work that you have to remind yourself to exhale as you get drawn in. The move from acoustic to metal with just a touch of orchestration is a gem. This is one of the most powerful songs on the disc and maybe the message being delivered has something to do with that too.

I will not say that this is perfect but it is one very enjoyable disc. Unlike most concept works, the songs on here can be pulled out and stand on their own individually, when you put them all together though, you have a real treat. To top it off they have a hidden track that not only fits the album perfectly but also will give all Iron Maiden fans a real treat.

These guys know how to bring it on. This is a powerhouse disc filled with some dynamite for fans of power metal and lyrics that have real meaning. It is the total package. I cannot wait to see what they have up their respective sleeves for us next time!

Track listing:

1. Relentless Chaos
2. Inner Self
3. Endless Journey
4. Your Decay
5. Beyond Despair
6. Share The Blame
7. Forsaken
8. Stand To Fall
9. Terrors Of War
10. Remembering Tomorrow
11. (Hidden Track)

Added: January 1st 2010
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2980
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by