Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinergy: Suicide By My Side (remaster)

Suicide By My Side, the 2002 release from supergroup Sinergy, saw the band continue on with their brand of thrashy power metal, in what up to now has been their last release. With Alexi Laiho & Roope Latvala quite busy with Children of Bodom, and Marco Hietala with Nightwish, all activity with Sinergy has been put on the back burner, which has kind of left vocalist Kimberly Goss waiting on the sidelines for quite a few years now. It's really a shame, as the three Sinergy releases are all very strong, packed with enough shred guitar work, powerful rhythms, strong vocals, and memorable songs to please just about any metal fan.

This Metal Mind remaster sounds absolutely fantastic, as the guitar riffs, fills, and leads from Laiho & Latvala just leap from the speakers and drill immediately into your brain. Classic cuts such as "I Spit On Your Grave", "The Sin Trade", "Written in Stone", "Nowhere for One", and the crankin' title track all contain some of the crunchiest, most supremely metal riffs of the last ten years. Though Laiho & Latvala surely have delivered plenty of tasty crunch-o-rama with Children of Bodom, if you are a fan of that band and have yet to discover Sinergy, you owe it to yourself to check out this release and the previous two Sinergy albums. Goss also sounds great here, relying less on a gothic metal style and settling into a roaring power metal wail.

Metal Mind has perfectly recreated the original Nuclear Blast release in a nice little digipack, and even thrown in a few bonus tracks for good measure, including a fun remake of the Scorpions' "Rock You Like a Hurricane" and an even better take on Pat Benatar's "Invincible". Apparently, Alexi didn't just like to record covers for Bodom, but also with Sinergy as well. The band has yet to release their long-awaited fourth album, but hopefully during some off time for Bodom they can finally make it happen.

Track Listing
1. I spit on your grave 4:03
2. The sin trade 3:48
3. Violated 4:07
4. Me, myself, my enemy 4:15
5. Written in stone 4:20 9
6. Nowhere for no one 3:12
7. Passage to the fourth world 3:38
8. Shadow island 5:03
9. Suicide by my side 3:43
10. Remembrance 2:00
11. Rock You Like a Hurrican-bonus track
12. Gimme, Gimme, Gimme-bonus track
13. Invincible-bonus track

Added: December 29th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 1837
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by