Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Prymary: The Enemy Inside

California's progressive metal act Prymary are back with their third release, and it's another concept piece, titled The Enemy Inside. Pulling together themes of 'self-destruction and dreams unfulfilled', The Enemy Inside is perhaps a bit darker and heavier than previous efforts, yet once again mixes the instrumental virtuosity of acts such as Dream Theater and Zero Hour, with the dark, moody flavors of Redemption, Fates, Warning, Evergrey, and Pain of Salvation.

The opening five-part title suite draws you right in from the start, as the first section is a monstrous instrumental with plenty of jaw-dropping musicianship. The band takes the listener through a near 20-minute epic here with no shortage of twists and turns, yet it's all very melodic and powerful. Lead singer Jackson Haskett sounds quite a bit like Redemption/Fates Warning vocalist Ray Alder, especially on the softer sections, and thankfully he stays clear of the high pitched wailings so commong with prog metal singers these days. "Inflicted" is a high-powered crusher complete with fat, beefy guitar riffs, symphonic keyboards, and the always intricate drum work of Chris Quirarte (who also drums for the already mentioned Redemption, as well as the Roswell Six project.) There's some terrific solo trade-offs on this one from guitarist Sean Entrikin, bassist Rob Young, and keyboard player Smiley Sean, which make for a thrilling ride into prog-metal heaven. Things don't let up on "Disillusion" either, an even more aggressive tune with an equal helping of crazy chops, and the massive riffage from Entrikin is just off the charts on the intelligent number "Edge of Discovery". Of course, what prog-metal CD would be complete without a closing 20+ minute epic? Here, that comes in the form of "Trial and Tragedy", an adventurous saga of epic proportions. Heskett is in fine form on this one, displaying plenty of emotions and tones, while the rest of the band just deliver one killer passage after another. Sean's Hammond and synth textures are just heavenly, and he trades plenty of roaring leads with Entrikin & Young.

Every year it seems that there's an album that I wind up hearing just a bit too late to add to my Best of the Year list, and this year The Enemy Inside is that album. Sure, there's been a lot of very good progressive metal releases this year, but you owe it to yourself not to overlook this late 2009 release from Prymary, which stacks up quite well to a lot of the competition. Jackson Haskett / vocals - Sean Entrikin / guitar - Chris Quirarte / drums - Neil McQueen / keyboards - Rob Young / bass

Track Listing
1. The Enemy Inside (Part 1)
2. The Enemy Inside (Part 2)
3. The Enemy Inside (Part 3)
4. The Enemy Inside (Part 4)
5. The Enemy Inside (Part 5)
6. Inflicted
7. Disillusion
8. Edge of Discovery
9. Trial and Tragedy

Added: December 28th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: ProgRock Records
Hits: 3408
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by