Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ZZ Top: Double Down Live 1980 & 2008 (DVD)

OK, let's get it out of the way right off the bat-all you need to know about this latest ZZ Top DVD, titled Double Down Live 1980 & 2008, is that it contains a full concert by the band from 1980. That's right, a full show, recorded live in Germany for the Rockpalast TV series, before all the gimmicks and hit singles, when ZZ Top was a kick ass, heavy blues rock, Southern Rock, whatever you want to call them, killer band. Remember those days? That was when Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill, and Frank Beard unleashed a never ending supply of heavy, beefy, Les Paul guitar riffs, thunderous bass grooves, and pounding drums throughout legendary songs such as "Waiting For the Bus", "I Thank You", "Heard It On the X", "Beer Drinkers and Hellraisers", "Just Got Paid", "Cheap Sunglasses", and a slew of other highly memorable heavy rockers. Those are here in this set and many more, like long forgotten gems "Precious and Grace", "Manic Mechanic", and "El Diablo". Billy Gibbons' riffs and solos as monstrous here, and he rattles the earth when he pulls out that slide and moves it up and down the neck of his Gibson. Sonically, this is a great sounding slice of video, the band roaring on all cylinders (though the vocals are rough in some spots), and though the picture shows it's age a bit, overall this is a set worth seeking out if you are a fan of the band.

The 2008 footage is taken from their tours of Europe and the US, and again features more of the classic older material rather than the hits of the 80's that we've allready heard too many times as it is. Interview snippets with the band are spliced in among memorable versions of "Jesus Just Left Chicago", "I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide", "Heard it on the X", "La Grange", "Tush", and many more, including a cover of the Jimi Hendrix staple "Hey Joe". Though this is still the more gimmicky, modern day ZZ Top, there's still some great performances here that will fit right in with Eagle Rock's other recent ZZ Top DVD release.

For the 'Definitely Then..." show from 1980, this is a mandatory purchase for any fan of classic, bluesy hard rock. Add in some solid clips from 2008, and you have an extremely worthy ZZ Top platter to add to your DVD collection.

Track Listing
DVD 1 Track List - Definitely Then 1980:
01. I Thank You
02. Waitin' For the Bus
03. Jesus Just Left Chicago
04. Precious And Grace
05. I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide
06. Manic Mechanic
07. Lowdown In The Street
08. Heard It On The X
09. Fool For Your Stockings
10. Nasty Dogs & Funky Kings
11. El Diablo
12. Cheap Sunglasses
13. Arrested For Driving While Blind
14. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
15. La Grange
16. She Loves My Automobile
17. Hi Fi Mama
18. Dust My Broom
19. Jailhouse Roc
20. Tush
21. Tube Snake Boogie
22. Just Got Paid
DVD 2 Track List - Almost Now 2008:
01. Got Me Under Pressure
02. Waitin' For The Bus
03. Jesus Just Left Chicago
04. I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide
05. Blue Jean Blues
06. Heard It On The X
07. Just Got Paid
08. I Need You Tonight
09. La Grange (with Sloppy Drunk & Bar-B-Q)
10. Hey Joe
11. Tush

Added: December 22nd 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2641
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by