Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Brainstorm: Just Highs No Lows (12 Years Of Persistence)

German melodic power metal band Brainstorm has another new one to tempt the fans with. Since forming in 1989 they have continued to pump out quality metal albums, 2003's Soul Temptation remains my favorite of Brainstorm's CDs, then came the impressive and formidable Liquid Monster, which was followed up by Downburst, a likeable release. To the present year and Brainstorm released album number eight, titled Memorial Roots another fun metal album.

Well that's not all for 2009, as we now have another Brainstorm release titled Just Highs No Lows (12 Years Of Persistence). A best of two disc collection, containing an abundance of top material, with a whopping 32 metal tracks, including a terrific selection of fan favorites, rare bonus and live numbers, plus two cover songs, Just Highs No Lows (12 Years Of Persistence) is not a bad choice at all. Many other songs could have been included; having such a solid back catalogue must have made it hard to choose what Brainstorm tracks should be on this release.

Many fans like myself will no doubt have a great deal if not all of both the older and newer material on these discs, but the second half of disc two does offer a lot of good extras to tempt you with, like the track "Face Down". For those new to Brainstorm's music, well then that's a different story as this release will give you a good selection of Brainstorm's type of metal.

Track list:
CD 1
1. Falling Spiral Down
2. Fire Walk With Me
3. End In Sorrow
4. How Do You Feel
5. Stained With Sin
6. Words Are Coming Through
7. All Those Words
8. Inside The Monster
9. Painside
10. Heavenly
11. Highs Without Lows
12. The Leading
13. Doorway To Survive
14. Shiva's Tears
15. Fornever
16. Soul Temptation

CD 2
1. Blind Suffering
2. Hollow Hideaway
3. Shadowland
4. Under Lights
5. Tear Down The Walls
6. Maharaja Palace
7. Beyond My Destiny
8. Demonsion
9. Face Down (LTD Bonus)
10. Breathe (Japan Bonus)
11. Drowning (Japan Bonus)
12. Crawling In Chains (Japan Bonus)
13. Before The Dawn (Judas Priest)
14. Is This The Way To Amarillo (T. CHRISTIE cover)
15. Voices (Live)
16. Liar's Edge (Live

Added: December 12th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1738
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by