Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Litany For The Whale: Dolores

Santa Rosa California newcomers Litany For The Whale have exploded onto the hardcore / noise rock scene in a big way with their impressive debut EP entitled Dolores. Comprised of seven tracks (two of them instrumentals), Dolores is a harrowing and punishing journey through the darkest depths of despair. With song titles like "Die Alone, Unloved" and "Rotting On The Shoreline" to give you a pretty good idea of what awaits you, nothing can really prepare for the unrelenting assault that awaits within. The listener is quickly taken down by the sheer weight of the massively layered guitars, which are loaded with endless amounts of distortion, and vocals that sound like tortured screams of anguish. The buzzing feedback on the closing minutes of "Die Alone, Unloved" lures you into an almost trancelike state that will have you wondering whether you're hearing actual feedback, or flies already beginning to congregate around the bloated corpse. For all of its jagged, murky aggression and dense wall of sound the band also displays a keen sense for creating lingering atmospherics as well, which is best demonstrated in the hazy opening moments of "Rotting On The Shoreline", the acoustic instrumental "Philistines" and the extended middle section on "Loneseome God" which is arguably the standout track on Dolores.

Dolores is somber, heavy and uncompromising music that sounds like it was twisted and bent into shape in the midst of chaos. It's one hell of an opening statement, albeit a bit of a short one, but I think if they stick to the solid foundation they've laid down here, and can come up with a full length release to rival the sheer brutality and solemn atmospheres displayed on Dolores, then be forewarned because if anything this debut proves that Litany For The Whale should be considered a force to be reckoned with, and they're not here to fuck around.

Track Listing
1) A Sleep
2) A Wake
3) Die Alone, Unloved
4) Rotting On The Shoreline
5) Lord Of The Gallows
6) Philistines
7) Lonesome God

Added: November 29th 2009
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Official Myspace Page
Hits: 1873
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by