Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lynch Mob: Smoke & Mirrors

It has been almost 20 years since George Lynch and Oni Logan brought us the Lynch Mob debut called Wicked Sensation. This album came out in a time when the grunge movement was pushing all the metal bands off of the charts and Lynch Mob was lost in the shuffle. Soon after, Oni left the band and what was a promising start became a one shot affair. Sure, George tried some other combinations but none worked nearly as well as what he and Oni had managed to do on that first album.

Nearly 30 years later, they have settled their differences and we have the follow up that should have happened so long ago. Sure this is a nostalgic trip to the hair bands of yesteryear but it is done so well and the vocal ability of Logan combined with the guitar wizardry of George makes this disc a whole lot of fun.

They have a distinct 80's flavor but that is not always a bad thing. If you think Whitesnake with a little bit of guitar virtuoso added you will have what this disc is all about. Very hooky choruses that will have you practicing your karaoke mixed with some good old style rock and roll give this one a thumbs up.

Lynch gives you some of his patented guitar tricks all through the disc as you might expect. He even pulls out the slide on the southern tinged title track "Smoke & Mirrors". You get a dose of heavy on songs like "21st Century Man" and "Time Keepers" along with some very catchy stadium rockers like "The Phacist", "Lucky Man" and the Bon Jovi sounding "Before I Close My Eyes". While this album may not set the world on fire, it is a good example of the style that Lynch used to make Dokken such a success and if you like them, this will be right up your alley!

Track listing:

1. 21st Century Man
2. Smoke & Mirrors
3. Lucky Man
4. My Kind Of Healer
5. Time Keepers
6. Revolution Hero
7. Let The Music Be Your Master
8. The Phacist
9. Where Do You Sleep At Night?
10. Madly Backwards
11. We Will Remain
12. Before I Close My Eyes
13. Mansion In The Sky (Bonus Track)

Added: November 15th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2031
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by