Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nocturnal Fear: Metal Of Honor

The war machine is once again gearing up for battle as one of America's premier thrash metal outfits Nocturnal Fear are back with their latest opus for Moribund Records, entitled Metal Of Honor. This new offering, which comes hot on the heels of 2008's lethal disc Code Of Violence, came with a bit of a price however as the bands lineup suffered a slight makeover when bassist and vocalist Necromodeus departed earlier this year. While losing a lead vocalist might be considered something of a setback for any other band, if there's one thing you need to know about these Michigan based maniacs, it's that they're anything but average. They simply handed the camouflage gear to session belter Doomy G. Blackthrash and got to work on the latest saga in their war themed catalogue.

Opening track "Cast From Heaven" begins with about a minute and half of audio clips from the film Rambo (2008) that culminate with the words of John J Rambo himself declaring "You know what you are... what you're made of. War is in your blood" and "When you're pushed, killing's as easy as breathing", before the real carnage begins. This song is highlighted by drummer Agressor's breakneck tempos, some equally as brutal and lightning fast guitar work courtesy of Slavehunter, as well as Blackthrash's evil, raspy sounding vocals. Whether it's this track or any of the other nine badges of honor on this disc, the band's modus operandi remains the same throughout, which is to totally annihilate the listener with a full on barrage of violence and aggression. Is it a bit derivative at times? Yes it is. However that being said, these guys serve up such a heaping dose of old school thrash / death metal on "Death Before Dishonor", "Soldiers Of Hell" and "Russian Roulette" that it will quickly have you forgetting that practically every song on Metal Of Honor sounds almost interchangeable.

If you're looking for something groundbreaking then Metal Of Honor will probably fall short of your expectations. On the other hand, if you like bands of this ilk, whose sole aim is to deliver a simple, no frills, but brutal assault on the senses, then look no further 'cause Nocturnal Fear have delivered once again. These guys certainly deserve to be counted among the elite as far as extreme metal is concerned.

Track Listing
1) Cast From Heaven
2) Nuclear Deathstrike
3) Death Before Dishonor
4) Soul Destroyer
5) The Victor And The Vanquished
6) Reign Of Terror (Instrumental Trilogy)
I) A Call To Arms
II) Riding Into War
III) From Order To Chaos
7) The Enigma Of Steel
8) Soldiers Of Hell
9) Russian Roulette
10) Triumph Of Steel

Added: November 11th 2009
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Moribund Records
Hits: 2989
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by