Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tournament: Years Old

Released on Forcefield Records this is the full length debut from the Brooklyn noise core merchants and is the follow up to the EP Swordswallower from 2007. Aggressive and relentless in pace and with an abrasive production it brings to mind the likes of Bad Religion, Mudhoney and Jesus Lizard and if you were never fans of this illustrious trio then Years Old will hold little appeal. Mid-album instrumental drone "From The Mouths Of Non Believers" is the only example of the band deviating from a style of throat-wrenching vocals, blurry guitars and muddy rhythms all delivered at a throbbing pace. The heavy rumbling bass grooves from bassist Ryan Kelly hold the songs together and provide a more cohesive sound amongst the squalling guitars and what passes as vocals.

Approach with caution.

Track Listing
01. walking negitive man 03:36
02. intake controller 01:09
03. washcloth 02:51
04. something temporary 03:08
05. smokelore 03:18
06. from the mouths of non believers 03:08
07. snuff news 02:00
08. good thanks you 03:32
09. big box oopportunity 03:49
10. all this light is getting in my ears 05:32

Added: November 9th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: MySpace
Hits: 1502
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by