Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Arcane: Chronicles Of The Waking Dream

It's not every day, in fact this is a first where I get to review a CD by a progressive metal band from my home state of Queensland. Well here's one, the Australian band Arcane who are based in the city of Brisbane. I had seen them mentioned elsewhere with considerable praise for their music, so I took the plunge and purchased their latest Chronicles Of The Waking Dream.

Arcane's quality progressive tunes draw you in effortlessly, and I'm not being a biased Aussie as this band is simply that good. Of course it helps to have a skilled line-up, which Arcane has, the voice of vocalist Jim Grey, Michael Gagen on guitar and keyboardist Matthew Martin are a great combination, like their contributions on track five "Secret", Stephen Walsh is behind the kit and Mick Millard who plays bass.

Arcane do play technical music and competently so, with a sizeable metal element, but it's not all metal. The band are somewhat of a musical chameleon making many changes, as they incorporate different styles into their songs. I can see Arcane appealing to fans of music from those such as Dream Theater, Riverside, To Mera or also Tool who I was reminded of.

Chronicles Of The Waking Dream is a story told throughout eleven tracks, by a narrator whom is known as Acolyte Zero, telling of the very different interpretations that people have had of the same event. The songs are testament to Arcane's ability to put together thoroughly engaging compositions, from mellow to heavy times with some enticing surprises such as those on "Asylum Acolyte Zero".

If Sea Of Tranquility had an award for favorite CD of the week, Chronicles Of The Waking Dream would get my pick. Those whom have yet to sample Aussie progressive metal, maybe it's time to take a listen to Arcane, and furthermore look for Eyefear, another very impressive progressive group.

Track Listing
1. Glimpse
2. The Seer
3. The Malice
4. The First Silent Year
5. Secret
6. Fading
7. The Second Silent Year
8. May 26
9. The Third Silent Year
10. Asylum Acolyte Zero
11. Whisper

Added: November 9th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3990
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by