Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Disharmonic Orchestra: Ahead (remaster)

Metal Mind Productions have re-released the 4th CD Ahead, from Austrian Avant-garde Metal act Disharmonic Orchestra. The new digipak version has been digitally remastered and limited to just 2,000 copies. The 13 track CD contains 8 songs with vocals, while the remaining 6 instrumental tracks vary from just :20 seconds of full on Death Metal to an over 7 minute hidden track containing both a quick Death Metal romp and then revealing an Austrian Pop song! Strange but funny just the same.

The trio that makes up Disharmonic Orchestra: Patrick Klopf-guitars & vocals, Martin Messner-drums and Herwig Zamernik-bass & vocals, have a unique sense of humor that completely overflows in these 13 tracks on Ahead. Songs range from the Industrial Rock of, "Dual Peepholes" to the full on bombastic Metal of "Idiosyncrated". A song like "Nine9nine" shows Disharmonic Orchestra's love for combining avant-garde Metal with a Jazz Fusion element. Off the wall with straining vocals and chopping guitar riffing and then BOOM, a frail little atmospheric interlude and then right back again. With a catchy chorus and just about as straight ahead as these guys get, "Grit Your Teeth" has a chorus that you could find yourself laughingly chanting to yourself, while "Keep Falling Down" is another "straight on" rocker for this odd bunch.

Extreme music like this has a difficult time finding a home with the masses, as you might imagine, but that doesn't mean that the musicianship contained within isn't quality. Disharmonic Orchestra are actually quite an interesting trio and if you can "get" their sense of humor and their "from another planet" sensibilities, you will most likely find this re-issue of 2002's Ahead a pretty interesting listen. A wacky adventure is in store for all those willing to take the journey with them.

Track Listing
1. Plus One
2. R.U.S.M.T.S.I.M
3. Supervision
4. Nine9nine
5. Grit Your Teeth
6. Keep Falling Down
7. Dual Peepholes
8. If This Is It, Isn't it, Is It?
9. Idiosyncrated
10. The Love I Hate
11. Pain Of Existence
12. Mindshaver
13. I.M.S.M.T.S.U.R

Added: November 8th 2009
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2110
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by