Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fireball Ministry: The Second Great Awakening

A big thank you to Metal Mind Productions once more, in their never ending quest to bring us all great metal music that has somehow escaped detection by the masses, they have given me another really good band to add to the collection!

The Los Angeles, by way of Cincinnati, based Fireball Ministry is nothing but a good dose of good old American heavy metal. On this their third album originally released in 2003, the Rev. James A. Rota II (yes, lead singer Rota is an ordained minister) and his congregation give you a chance to worship at the altar of rock and roll. They do nothing fancy. There music is the low down and dirty type of rock and roll that you expect from bands like Faster Pussycat, LA Guns and a host of others.

On thing that sets them apart is although they are not a Christian band, a lot of their music deals with spirituality. No, there is no preaching but the imagery used in some of their music is certainly rooted in Christianity. I know that this will be a detriment to a lot of people but it shouldn't. These guys are all about rock and roll and they do so with the best of them. If that is enough to make you stay away then it is your loss.

When the short instrumental intro turns into the song "King" and the drums signal the start of the metal to come, it is time to hold onto something as you turn the volume control up, the ground shakes and the rock and roll begins. This is party rock at its finest. Their music has all the hooks you are ever going to want and I find it hard to believe that they never became a MTV staple.

"The Sinner", "Flatline", "Master Of None", the list goes on and on. Every song is a terrific adrenaline filled anthem that just wants to make you head out with the stereo cranked and just cruise the open road. I particularly like "Master Of None". It is just a great tune with a dynamite little solo in the middle but let me emphasize, there are no weak spots on the album anywhere.

Metal Mind has given you a little incentive to get this disc too. Not only is it limited to 2000 copies it has three bonus tracks and three video clips. All of them make this disc worth seeking out. They might not break any new ground or take you anywhere that you haven't been before but they sure make it a fun ride wherever you might be heading. This album is just plain old rock and roll and a whole lot of fun!

Track listing:

1. The Second Great Awakening (Intro)
2. King
3. The Sinner
4. Master Of None
5. Daughter Of The Damned
6. Flatline
7. In The Mourning
8. He Who Kills
9. Rollin' On
10. Choker Maidens Of Venus

Bonus Tracks:

1. Dark Descend
2. Daughter Of The Damned (Demo Version)
3. Flatline (Demo Version)

Enhanced Part:

1. Flatline (Clip)
2. Master Of None (Clip)
3. Making Of "Flatline"

Added: November 1st 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2877
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by