Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fear Factory: Hatefiles (remaster)

Ahhh, the majestic Fear Factory! What would the modern day Metal scene been without them? One of the most imitated as well as innovative bands in Metal today, Metal Mind Productions and Roadrunner Records have re-issued the classic rarities, remixes and b-sides disc, Hatefiles. Originally released to try and capitalize on the then newly broken up Fear Factory, this digitally remastered and re-packaged digipack is limited to only 2000 copies. This new re-release looks and sounds great.

Hatefiles features 18 tracks ranging from classic Fear Factory Industrialized Metal rarities to House/Trance club remixes. There are even tracks that have seen the light of day in some video games (drummer Raymond Herrera is an avid video game scorer). This CD shows more of what Fear Factory COULD sound like than actually showcasing what FF ARE. I am a HUGE FF fan but was never a big fan of this CD with it originally came out and I feel the same now. Hatefiles is more a dance remix record than a b-side/rarities one. Out of the 18 tracks on this re-issue, of the CD is made up of basically dance remixes. You would think that with such a heavy and angry palette to draw from that there would be some cool Metal remixes, but this is not the case. Unreleased songs like "Terminate" that leads off the CD are what I would have expected. This is a Killer song in true FF style. And there is a great live version of the classic "Replica"! Another highlight is the demo version of a song called "Dead Bodies" that would transform into the song "Invisible Wounds" from their Digimortal CD. But the one excellent remix is the reworking of the now classic FF version of Gary Numan's tune, "Cars". This version of "Cars" features the lead vocals from Numan alone and even more beefed up guitars from 7 string tone god, Dino Cavares.

Hatefiles is re-packaged quite nicely in the new digipack and does even sound sonically more impressive than the first issue, but other than that, there are no additional tracks to be had. This CD is basically for FF fanatic's who never picked this up on the first go around. The collection of one off's and remixes are sure to find a home in any Fear Factory fan's CD collection. As a FF fan, I just wish that there were more live or other b-sides on here. But all and all it's an interesting listen and of's Fear Factory!!

Track Listing
1. Terminate
2. Frequency
3. Demolition Racer
4. Machine Debaser
5. Invisible Wounds - The Suture Mix
6. Resurrection - T.L.A. Big Rock Mix
7. Edgecrusher - Urban Assault Mix
8. Descent - Falling Deeper Mix
9. Body Hammer - Colin Richardson Mix
10. Zero Signal - Colin Richardson Mix
11. Cars - Numanoid Mix
12. Dark Bodies - Demo
13. Replica - Live
14. Cyberdyne
15. Refueled
16. Transgenic
17. Manic Cure
18. New Breed - Spoetnik Mix

Added: October 25th 2009
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2353
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by