Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sunrise Sunset Project: Sunrise Sunset

Sunrise Sunset Project are a new band from St. Petersburg, Russia consisting of Andrew Lee Beth (keyboards) and Steve Kuddins (guitars and keyboards). There is no doubt the band takes its musical queue from 70s classic progressive rock with influences ranging from Pink Floyd to Genesis. Throw in a little King Crimson to keep things interesting and we have the makings of a very good debut album. Although there are similarities to those bands there is a freshness to their sound that does not allow them to sound stale or out of date. The instrumentation, in particular the guitar, is crisp and clean and very well recorded. The overall production is excellent which only adds to my enjoyment of this release.

The band's music has elements of art rock, symphonic prog, jazz, ambient and space rock. Being an instrumental album it is important to keep up the interest level which I feel the band does quite well. The guitar playing is well done, displaying Gilmouresque qualities especially in the soaring solos. It is not complicated but neither is it supposed to be. The melodies are plentiful but this music is far from commercial.

Starting with the Crimson influenced "Light in a Wasteland", a number drenched in jazzy ambiance with the guitar setting the mood from soaring lead lines to choppy rhythms. The soaring lead guitar lines in the spacey "Shadow on the Sun" is worth checking out as is its symphonic blend of keyboards and guitar. The pretty melody that begins "Black City" is soon interrupted by a middle section of metallic guitar chords and some biting lead guitar creating a darker tone that eventually leads back to its somber beginning. The progressive rock of "Midday Trip" with its subdued symphonic intro has a Dark Side of the Moon quality as does the dreamy jazzy approach of the mellow "Freedom of the Light".

The packaging is very nice with artwork by Liza Donchenko. My copy is the paper sleeve limited edition released on the MALS label.

This is high quality instrumental progressive rock and although not overly complex is very well executed and worthy of your undivided attention. Lovers of classic 70s progressive rock will be very happy indeed. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Light in a Wasteland (7:50)
2. Shadow on the Sun (5:33)
3. Black City (7:56)
4. Midday Trip (5:47)
5. Freedom of the Sound (4:21)
6. Freedom of the Light (8:25)

Added: October 17th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's MySpace Page
Hits: 2804
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by