Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hirax: Thrash and Destroy (CD/DVD)

Hirax is one of those bands that the term "You don't know what you've got till it's gone" applies to. One of the early pioneers of thrash, the group never really made the big time like their contemporaries but in later years their contribution to the genre has been greatly appreciated in hindsight.

With charismatic frontman Katon W. De Pena leading the way, this band's influence stretched much further than their California home. Evidence of that is in this combined CD/DVD package that is a live recording of their gig at the Keep It True Festival in Dittigheim, Germany. The DVD also has additional footage from the Metal Forces Night in Lörrach, Germany. Whether you want to see the frenzy that is a Hirax concert or just listen to one of the best hardcore thrash bands to come down the pike, this is a must have for fans of this type of music.

The 18 songs that make up the Keep it Metal concert are some of the most blazing examples of the power and the glory that is thrash metal. Covering many years and personal changes in the band this is a fine testament to a group that has found an ever growing cult following amongst the head banging and stage diving crowd. Metal mayhem like the songs "The New Age of Terror", "Destroy" and "Unleash the Dogs of War" whip the audience into a frenzy that turns the German sold out venue into total chaos. The band never lets up for the full set. Don't expect any ballads or even a brief softer interlude, with Hirax, it just ain't happening!

The second concert featured on the DVD has only 1 song not on the Keep It Metal set list. ("Demons Evil Force") With 12 songs and 11 of them being on the previous concert, this is a bit of overkill back to back. Sure there is some variation but not enough to sit through two almost identical features. So you will end up either playing one or the other. At least this way you can change the setting for your night's ear bleeding courtesy of Hirax.

The CD is the full 18 songs from the Keep It Live Festival. It is a great disc but a little dangerous to play while driving. With all the maniacal metal coming from the speakers, the urge to turn the freeway into a motorized mosh pit may prove to be overwhelming. I am surprised there is no warning sticker on this one.

So, if you like your music loud, hard and fast, this is a disc for you. If you are not familiar with Hirax, this is a great place to meet them for the first time. If you are already a fan, this is a must have for your collection. All of it is done in high quality audio and the DVD is done with 6 different cameras and captures their stage show magnificently. Here is a treat for the eyes and ears of metalheads for sure.

Track listing:

Keep It Metal Festival (CD/DVD)

1. (Intro) El Dia de los Muertos
2. 100,000 Strong
3. Lucifer's Inferno
4. Blind Faith
5. The New Age of Terror
6. Chaos and Brutality
7. Hate, Fear and Power
8. Hostile Territory
9. Destroy
10. Broken Neck
11. Bombs of Death
12. El Diablo Negro
13. Barrage of Noise
14. Walk With Death
15. The Plague
16. Mouth Sewn Shut
17. (Encore) Assassins of War
18. Unleash the Dogs of War

Metal Forces Night (DVD)

1. The New Age of Terror
2. Chaos and Brutality
3. Hate, Fear and Power
4. Hostile Territory
5. Destroy
6. Broken Neck
7. Demons Evil Forces
8. El Diablo Negro
9. Barrage of Noise
10. Walk With Death
11. The Plague
12. Bombs of Death

Added: October 12th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1971
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by