Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Earthling Society: Sci-Fi Hi-Fi

Earthling Society, hailing from a thoroughly down to earth corner of North-West England, have been forging their way into the frontiers of space rock for a few years now.

The term space rock is a divisive one, often bringing to mind images of lazy sub-Gilmour guitarists laying generic liquid solos over soft focus backgrounds. Not for Earthling Society however, whose brand is laced with a messy psychedelic paranoia with occasional flashes of utopian anthemic stridence. Their sound is densely layered and raw, yet never allows the various instruments to gel into a comfortable unity. It is more evocative of isolationist panic than leisurely introspection.

Despite the name, Sci-Fi Hi-Fi is an oddly lo-fi affair, with a muddy production that recalls Hawkwind in their opaque pomp. When the band are at their best - like in the strident midsection of "Tempel ov flaming Youth" or the gathering crescendo of "E.V.I.L.U.S.A." - this adds to the sense of bristling paranoia, and creates a musical hedgerow from which refrains can burst free in stark clarity. However, it does mean that the less powerful moments can be lost a little in the mire. The opening title track suffers most from this, meandering slightly aimlessly through its 8 minutes.

The slight anomaly that is "The Lantern" sits in the middle of the album; an earthy country song. It fits seamlessly into the album though, partly thanks to a hazily haunting tone that sucks the listener down its twisted rabbit hole into a nightmarish fuzzy outro. Any lingering doubts about the band's ability to create a powerful sound are thrust aside with the monolithic closer "E.V.I.L.U.S.A", dominating the end of the album with a powerful soundscape that builds into an enormous climax.

Sci-Fi Hi-Fi is an undoubtedly strong album. Earthling Society have a brilliant ability to create a jarring sense of eerie isolation, one which does enough to retain the interest during the moments when they lose their way.

Track Listing

  1. Sci-fi Hi-Fi
  2. Tempel ov flaming Youth
  3. EA1729
  4. The Lantern
  5. A Future Dream
  6. E.V.I.L.U.S.A

Added: October 9th 2009
Reviewer: Richard Wheelhouse
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4821
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by