Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Subhumans: The Day The Country Died

The re-release of the 1983 punk classic The Day The Country Died gives this generation a chance to hear the angst and protest that the youth of that time seemed to be festering. While I was no teenager at the time, for me this was a era that didn't seem to be nearly as horrific as the lyrics of Dick Lucas and the rest of the band make it out to be.

Comparing the English society with the George Orwell vision of life in 1984, Subhumans gives a great soundtrack for the punk protest by those who thought the times were turning toward Orwell's nightmarish view of government. While I believe that "they doth protest too much" the way they deliver their message is a simply great slice of the punk rock pie. Loud, harsh and filled with the piss and vinegar of youth, this is a brash album that captures this type of musical movement perfectly.

One thing that this album has that the future Subhumans releases lack is a sense of humor. With songs like "Zyklon B-Movie" and "Til The Pigs Come Around" the band gets its message across without having to stand up on the soapbox. I am glad that they could have a little fun once in awhile.

This album is just a good dose of snotty English punk of the best kind. Be careful, you might just get the urge to spike the hair and put a safety pin through your nose. This disc is one of the real important punk releases of the time. Along with the Sex Pistols, Subhumans were a band that defined a generation of English youth. Right, wrong or indifferent with their message, this remastered disc is thirty six minutes of pure attitude that you will dig out in those moments you feel defiant.

Track listing:

1. All Gone Dead
2. Ashtray Dirt
3. Killing
4. Minority
5. Mickey Mouse Is Dead
6. Nothing I Can Do
7. Dying World
8. Subvert City
9. Big Brother
10. New Age
11. I Don't Wanna Die
12. No
13. Zyklon B-Movie
14. ''Til The Pigs Come Round
15. No More Gigs
16. Black And White

Added: October 6th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 1745
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by