Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Little Feat: Skin It Back (DVD)

Recorded just about a month prior to their groundbreaking set that made up their 1977 live album Waiting For Columbus, this DVD features a performance from the legendary Little Feat on Germany's Rockpalast TV series. Skin It Back is Little Feat at their best, plowing through an 11 song set that features some of the band's best material, played in a lively fashion that shows their compositional as well as instrumental talents. Along with The Allman Brothers Band, Little Feat were always considered one of the first 'jam bands' that combined rock, blues, jazz, and a southern-country/Dixie twang. Though most of the attention always went to slide guitarist/vocalist Lowell George (and he's in great form here without a doubt), notable mention needs to be made of the excellent guitar & vocal work of Paul Barrere. He and George are a great team, as each have totally different styles but they work well off each other. While George's tasty slide licks soar to the heavens, Barrere's stinging lead lines sizzle and scorch these songs, complemented greatly by the magnificent keyboard stylings of Bill Payne.

Many of the band's trademark material is here, such as "Fat Man in the Bathtub", "Oh, Atlanta", "Dixie Chicken", and "Feets Don't Fail Me Now". A real treat is the smoldering fusion rave-up "Day At the Dog Races", featuring some face melting runs from Payne and Barrere, as well as intricate rhythms from bassist Kenny Gradney and drummer Richard Hayward. Throw in hot versions of "Rocket In My Pocket", "Willin' ", and a few others, and you have a must see live set from Little Feat at their peak, before the world lost Lowell George and the band had to regroup from his tragic loss.

As a bonus, this DVD features some rehearsal footage from the show, including 'Rock and Roll Doctor", another fan favorite that sadly did not make the official show cut. Here it is, and some other tunes, played during rehearsal in a more laid back, yet still convincing fashion. Eagle Rock has put together a nice package here, including a booklet with photos from the show and a few essays. Though the video quality is what you would expect from a mid/late 70's production, it is still very good and the sound is quite nice.

Track Listing
1.) Skin It Back
2.) Fat Man In The Bathtub
3.) Oh, Atlanta
4.) Day At The Dog Races
5.) All That You Dream
6.) Old Folks' Boogie
7.) Dixie Chicken
8.) Tripe Face Boogie
9.) Feats Don't Fail Me Now
10.) Willin'
11.) Rocket In My Pocket
Bonus Tracks:
1.) Old Folks' Boogie
2.) Fat Man In The Bathtub
3.) Rock 'n' Roll Doctor
4.) Skin It Back / Fat Man In The Bathtub
5.) Oh, Atlanta
6.) Willin'

Added: October 5th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2202
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by