Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Duskfall, The: Lifetime Supply Of Guilt

Metal Mind Productions has once again come up with a winner from the world of metal to spotlight with one of their limited edition re-releases. This time they have chosen a band that enjoyed modest success in their native Sweden but had a hard time getting it to the next level. The Duskfall is a melodic death metal band that should have had a broader appeal than they did. "Lifetime Supply Of Guilt is their third release and it is one of those albums that you will always keep near enough that it can hit the player in a moments notice!

The Duskfall had a way to achieve all the heaviness a band can muster and deliver it in such a way that you will wonder why they haven't been a constant companion before. The unique thing about them is that there is a very melodic undercurrent throughout their music. Don't get me wrong though, they attack the senses with such force that you will be glad when they turn things a little more melodic on songs such as "The Shallow End" just so you have a chance to inhale. This is old school from start to finish. I am sure that singer Kai Jaakkola never gave a thought to anything that would be considered clean vocals. With the menacing guitar attack behind him, Kai is a screaming, snarling beast but believe it or not, for the most part he is as legible as it gets in this genre.

Although I don't normally seek out this brand of music there is something that draws me to this album. The combination of the fierce guitars that still manage to maintain a melodic style is very unique and the vocal ability of Jaakkola makes this disc something to be appreciated.

I have to thank Metal Mind once more for making this excellent band available again. The release is limited to 2000 copies so you had better get an order in quick. This was a band a bit ahead of the times and when today's death metal fans get a taste of it I am sure those 2000 will be gone fast!

Track listing:

1. Trust Is Overrated
2. The Shallow End
3. Break The Pact
4. A Stubborn Soul
5. Shoot It In
6. Going Down Screaming
7. Hours Are Wasted
8. Sympathy Has Decreased
9. Downright Dreadful
10. Relive Your Fall

Added: October 5th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 1713
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by