Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Simbiose: Naked Mental Violence

10 seconds. That is as much time as Simbiose gives you to breath in the re-realease of 2002's Naked Metal Violence. It is the duration of the reggae style guitar riff that you hear on the song " Lavagem Cerebral." Other than that, be prepared for a grindcore extravaganza of the most brutal kind.

It doesn't matter that a good portion of the lyrics are in Portuguese as the guttural growling of Hugo R and Joao are just the vocal noise in front of the boring, tired riffs behind them. Simply put, there is nothing on this disc that makes me want to pull it off the shelf again. I have heard it done before and much better.

With no variation to the theme over the 23 songs that make up this disc the real test is making it all the way through before thinking that it has started over already. I give it this, it is brutal, it is loud and it pounds away relentlessly. At your next gathering, if you would like a mosh pit to break out in the living room, this is the disc. Want to keep the neighbors away from your yard, crank it up a little louder.

Track listing:

1. Fake World
2. O Seu Lugar
3. Naked Mental Violence
4. Zoo (Nao) Logico
5. Em Nome Da Ordem E Da Lei
6. Lavagem Cerebral
7. Excrementos De Odio
8. Wise Up
9. Contraste
10. Control Of A Re-Action
11. Escada Da Vida
12. Parem Com A Violencia
13. Against The White Man's Race
14. It's Not Your Business
15. Torturado Pela Tradicao
16. Don't Fool Yourself
17. Lugar No Ceu
18. Portugal Em Chamas
19. Unconsciousness Is Perfection
20. Life's An Irony
21. Que Motivos Para Celebrar
22. Same Skulls Same Race
23. Agent Orange

Added: October 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 1642
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by