Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Of Raven & Ruins: Bound To Prophecy

Houston Texas brings us this young, new death / black metal outfit Of Raven & Ruins who have just issued their self released debut album Bound To Prophecy. Although this group of six musicians have only been together since 2005 the material on Bound To Prophecy makes them sound like seasoned veterans, and it's a bit surprising as to why the major labels haven't been breaking down their door. Nevertheless their formula of interlocking twin guitar harmonies and majestic sounding, symphonic keyboards is a winning one that they stick with throughout the course of these eleven finely crafted compositions. Alex Bennett's harsh, raspy death metal vocals are a little one dimensional at times but that's really only a minor gripe because there is really isn't a lot to find fault with on this impressive first album. Right from the unrelenting opening trash of "Resonance" through to the punishing guitar onslaught of "Dance Of Disdain" and the confident galloping rhythms displayed on "Blood Fueled Fields" these guys make a very positive first impression. In addition to their death / symphonic black metal approach the boys add dashes of thrash and even a trace amount of what I'd call an almost folk, medieval feel on the aforementioned "Blood Fueled Fields" and "Abomination (Behold The Damned) ". What really makes their sound work so well though is the fact that neither the twin guitars nor the keyboards try to overpower each other or dominate the mix, instead opting to blend together harmoniously which helps to help maintain both a feeling of consistency and cohesiveness.

Of Raven & Ruins have put together a really solid album from start to finish that proves they are definitely worthy of playing with the big boys. It wouldn't surprise me if one of the major labels finally decides to snag these guys up in the not too distant future based on the strength of the performances here. If you're a fan of bands like Dimmu Borgir and Behemoth then you can't afford not to check out Of Raven & Ruins.

Track Listing
1) Resonance
2) Bound To Prophecy
3) Dance Of Disdain
4) Abomination (Behold The Damned)
5) The Animate Incarnate
6) Interlude
7) Raven Knights
8) Blood Feud Fields
9) Atrophy Of The Unavailing
10) Salem's Wrath
11) Shadowed In Silence

Added: September 29th 2009
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Officlal MySpace Page
Hits: 1681
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by