Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jorn: Spirit Black

For his sixth solo studio album, Jorn Lande has given us another solid piece of epic metal that is sure to please fans of his and lovers of the genre also. Spirit Black is a record that soars with the legendary voice of Jorn leading the way through ten terrific cuts that will solidify his standing as a teacher in the Dio school of melodic heavy metal.

On this disc he does not stray to far from the formula that has worked for so many years, instead he gives the listeners just exactly what they want. A powerhouse of heavy metal that begs for you to throw it into the car player and just roll away the miles with the windows down and the music blaring. Jorn is a master of this type of music and for every head banger out there, this one is a must have.

If I had to pick a favorite song from this disc it would be "Rock and Roll Angel'. With a slight Whitesnake feel to it, this piece of melodic metal is a song that will have you hooked with his powerful voice unleashed and the sing-a-long chorus that is sure to be a concert highlight. This is the kind of music that makes me want to just keep hitting the replay button over and over. Needless to say, picking a favorite is not an easy chore with this album. His ability to capture the essence of melodic metal is never more evident than on this disc. Even with his cover of Thin Lizzy's "The Sun Goes Down" and Tarja Turunen's "I Walk Alone", he manages to put a spin on them that is uniquely Jorn.

Having been a person who grew up on melodic metal of this kind, this is one welcome addition to my collection. I have had this album loaded and with me ever since I picked it up. I see no reason why it will leave my player anytime soon. Jorn seems rejuvenated on this disc and it makes for one of the best heavy metal albums of recent times.

Track listing:

1. Spirit Black
2. Below
3. Road of the Cross
4. The Last Revolution
5. City Inbetween
6. Rock and Roll Angel
7. Burn Your Flame
8. World Gone Mad
9. I Walk Alone
10. The Sun Goes Down (bonus track)

Added: September 23rd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Jorn's Official Page
Hits: 2837
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by