Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Power Pellut: Power Pellut

Taking their name from classic arcade game Pac-Man and born out of a jam session in Louisiana, underground sludge metal trio Power Pellut release this six track EP via I'm Better Than Everyone Records in a limited edition 180g vinyl pressing of just 500 hand numbered copies. Their style of lo-fi plodding doom is well executed on the opening behemoth of "Black Molly", the guttural screams of frontman Lonnie ringing out in a vein not dissimilar to equally deranged frontman such as David Yow (Jesus Lizard) or Chris Spencer (Unsane). The emphasis is on the churning riffs that are bone crushingly heavy and set against a backdrop of thumping rhythms; "Neato Bandito" and the strident roar of "Rabbit Hole" are new variations on what is a well-worn theme and do enough to suggest a bright future.

Add in some twistingly distorted and horrific cover artwork courtesy of Glyn Smith and this is an above average debut release that should be well received by the stoner / doom / sludge community.

Track Listing
01. Black Molly
02. Corky's Revenge
03. If I Could Only Reach My Utility Belt
04. Neato Bandito
05. Rabbit Hole
06. The Gambler

Added: September 22nd 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 1783
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by