Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Acid Drinkers: Varran Strikes Back (remaster)

This re-release of the 1998 live record, Varran Strikes Back (Metal Mind Productions) from the Polish Thrash band, Acid Drinkers, contains the original 14 track release as well as 3 more bonus tracks. Acid Drinkers is a band that fell through the cracks for me, as I had never heard of these guys, so I didn't really know what to expect.

With 17 live songs recorded in 1996, Acid Drinkers brand of Thrash is very much steeped in the '80's and with song titles like; "Pizza Driver", "Street Rockin'" and "I Fuck The Violence" it seems that these guys at least have a sense of humor, or so I hope. The first thing that I notice is that the production on this live record is awesome. It is sonically a very good sounding mix. The drums sound awesome and the guitars cut through everything, so Acid Drinkers are off to a good start.

Varran Strikes Back is a metal record for those Thrash fans who like a tad of humor in their metal. With cover songs from the Monty Python classic, "Always Look On The Bright Side of Life", to '60's staple, The Troggs' "Wild Thing" or CCR's "Proud Mary", Acid Drinkers do add their own take on such odd cover tunes done in a Thrashy type of way. A sense of humor these guys do have and the audiences seem to completely eat it up. The band seem to have their crowds eating out of their hands, every step of the way. Sing alongs, chats, and lots of screaming, the fans of Acid Drinkers are a major part of this release.

While this CD is actually quite a bit of fun to listen to, the down side, unfortunately are the Acid Drinkers songs, and I'm now sure why I have never heard of these guys before. The actual playing is fine but the songs themselves are lacking. This type of Thrash is a bit uninspired and just doesn't move me very much. Having said that, it does start out a bit slow but does gather a little speed if you can make it all the way through. However, this task may be a bit daunting.

Track list:
1. Zero
2. The Joker
3. High Proof Cosmic Milk
4. Poplin Twist
5. United Suicide Legion
6. Street Rockin'
7. Slow and Stoned (Method of Yonash)
8. Barmy Army
9. Flooded With Wine
10. Pizza Driver
11. I Fuck the Violence
12. Always Look on the Bright Side of Life
13. Wild Thing
14. Proud Mary
Bonus tracks:
15. Dancing in The Slaughter House (live)
16. Drug Dealer (live)
17. Human Bazzoka (live)

Added: September 14th 2009
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 1819
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by