Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mystic Prophecy: Regressus (remaster)

Regressus is where things all started to fall into place for international power metal act Mystic Prophecy. After the very solid debut Vengeance, the band, led by the mega-talents of guitarist Gus G., launched Regressus onto the metal community, and instantly became one of the most popular bands in the genre. Metal Mind Productions has now reissued and remastered this 2003 release (originally on Nuclear Blast) in a lovely digipack complete with enhanced sound, lyrics, photos, and a band essay.

This baby is just stellar all around, featuring great production that fully displays the talents of all the members, killer songs, powerful vocals, and top notch musicianship. Opening cut "Calling From Hell" gets things started in pure headbanging fashion, and this one leads into the more melodic "Eternal Flame", a tune with a catchy hook that is driven home by the strong vocals of Roberto Dimitri Liapakis, one of the best singers in power metal. "Lords of Pain" is a driving metal anthem, fueled by plenty of sizzling, pinch harmonic solos and riffs from Gus G., while "Sign of the Cross" is a straight ahead, no nonsense basher, metal all the way with no frills whatsoever. Other highlights include the blistering "Night of the Storm", the crankingly heavy "Forgotten Soul", the complex riffery of "When Demons Return", and the moody yet epic sounding "Regressus/Lost in Time", a tune that will instantly appeal to fans of Iced Earth with its galloping rhythms, heavy riffs, and anthemic chorus.

As an added bonus, this reissue contains two covers, one of Manowar's "Fighting the World" and the other of Iron Maiden's "Sanctuary", both fun renditions and worth having if you are a loyal fan of Mystic Prophecy. Overall, Regressus is is a near perfect display of the the talents of Mystic Prophecy, a power metal force that, even without the services of Gus G. after their third album, still are a force on the metal scene today.

Track Listing
1. Calling from Hell
2. Eternal Flame
3. Lords of Pain
4. Sign of the Cross
5. Night of the Storm
6. Traveller [Instrumental]
7. In Your Sins
8. Forgotten Soul
9. When Demons Return
10. Regressus/Lost in Time
11. Mystic Prophecy
12. Land of the Dead
13. Fighting the World -Manowar bonus track
14. Sanctuary -Iron Maiden bonus track

Added: September 13th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2036
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by