Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dope: No Regrets

The Chicago based band Dope has been kicking around for four albums prior to the release of No Regrets. Up to this point I have been a mild fan and with each album there has been a steady improvement. It wasn't until I was thrashed thoroughly with the industrial/heavy metal combo of this disc that I sat up and really took notice. Although I might not want any of them to date my daughter, these guys have found a place in our home with this disc. This was further demonstrated when I finally got a chance to see them live in Chicago on tour with Black Label Society. Not only did they bring the house down, they blew Mr. Zakk off the stage! We left part way into the BLS set after the let down when Dope finished.

So just what do these guys bring to the table? With the album the band has found a unique melding of the heavy metal/sleaze guitar driven rock with an industrial sounds that makes for a totally enjoyable headbanging experience.

When the album opens with the beeping of a heart monitor that suddenly stops you have a feeling that the cause of this "Flat Line" might just follow. Sure enough, Dope gives you a dose of industrial strength mayhem with the deranged "6-6-Sick". Following that up with the highly addictive "Addiction" (featuring Zakk Wylde) with its terrific hooks and built in rebel rousing verse is like a one-two punch that is only the beginning of one of the really cool metal disc you are going to find. Sure it glorifies all that rock and roll is notorious for but it does so in such a great way that I have been hooked on it since I first listened to it.

The album title is a reoccurring theme through a number of the songs on the disc. It is also something that I imagine that this band uses as a slogan proudly. For a story that sounds like it came out of a Hollywood script, check out the history of the band. If it isn't proof that what don't kill you makes you stronger, I don't know what is. No matter what they have gone through, the band has delivered a magnificent metal album that has no weak spots. Other highlights are the totally sleazy "Dirty World", the kind of whimsical "I Don't Give A ****" which falls into a similar category as the Kiss song "I Just Wanna" and one of the best covers of Billy Idol's "Rebel Yell" that I have ever heard.

Believe me, if you are a metalhead, you should have this album. It is one of the most fun albums from start to end that I own. Also, if you they are in concert anywhere near you, make it a point to go and catch them. It is one great show!

Track listing:

1. Flat Line
2. 6-6-Sick
3. Addiction
4. No Regrets
5. My Funeral
6. We Are
7. Dirty World
8. Interlude
9. Violence
10. Best For Me
11. Bloodless
12. Scorn
13. Rebel Yell
14. I Don't Give A ****
15. Die, Boom, Bang, F***
16. Nothing For Me Here

Added: September 6th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 2036
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by