Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Crovella, Beppe: Pianovagando

As you can see from the track listing there is not a shortage of songs on the latest CD by Beppe Crovella entitled Pianovagando. He is the keyboardist for the veteran Italian progressive-fusion band Arti & Mestieri. Crovella opts for the grand piano as his instrument of choice as it is the only one used. The total disc length is seventy-five minutes however all of the songs are short pieces with the longest being a mere three and a half minutes. There is a nice flow to the album because the songs fit beautifully together like the pieces of a puzzle, as if this were one musical piece with many different movements. Crovello explores many different styles but clearly jazz is touched upon most often, although other genres are revealed such as classical and blues.

Included in the liner notes is a brief description of each song. It seems these songs were written close to Crovella's heart as they can be interpreted as a narrative about his life. Rather than words, Crovella uses the piano to tell his story. The way he is able to conjure emotion within these short instrumental pieces is truly impressive. Some highlights include the excellent melody in "Three Sister's Joy, a feel-good rollicking number in which the title says it all or the moving "A Richiesta Di Franco" where the melody takes center stage, like in so many of these songs. The free-form jazz of "Senza Freni" is quite intriguing and may appeal to fans wanting something more esoteric.

I give credit to Mr. Crovella for making such a personal album and one that clearly means a great deal to him. If you like piano-based music you cannot go wrong here. This one has a touch of class written all over it.

Track Listing:
1. Birth
2. Gianfranco
3. Over the Ocean
4. Montmartre
5. Waiting for a Star
6. Aura
7. Rain On Chet
8. Sulla Jeep
9. Farenheit
10. Mexicalli
11. Ode
12. Sin Fronteras
13. Giovane Angelo
14. Groove Hunter
15. Return Of Emotion
16. Studio 1
17. Valzer Del Tempo
18. Shirahata Pond
19. After-Love Solitude
20. Three Sisters' Joy
21. S. Sebastiano
22. Berazategui
23. Amore Ritrovato
24. Arturo E Jim
25. Spring Is Here
26. Ruvido
27. 3 Seconds
28. Di Notte
29. Sit Procul Omne Nefas!
30. Ginko 2
31. Back Home
32. Ercolano
33. Cercando Il Parcheggio
34. Sopra Le Onde
35. Sagra Paesana
36. Ricordi… Quando
37. Pan Di Spagna
38. Omiyage
39. Dick L'Intrepido
40. Ma Non Ci Siamo Giá Visti?
41. Feet In The Air
42. Ami 200
43. Goin' To The Club
44. Mattino Con Nebbia
45. Snapshots
46. I-Amis
47. Prime Tristezze
48. Senza Freni
49. A Richiesta Di Franco
50. Aries
51. Heisei
52. Montagne Russe
53. Compuman
54. Funteria
55. Invocation
56. Stay Happ!
57. Avanti Il Prossimo

Added: September 4th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1680
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by