Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Ilium: Ageless Decay

This one came as a bit of a surprise, I didn't know melodic power metal band Ilium had a new CD, so when I discovered there was I promptly ordered a copy. After reviewing their last album Vespertilion, I found that CD actually continued to grow on me quite a lot afterwards, and still gets regular spins. They truly are one talented metal band, who deserve more attention and success than they currently have had. Like true survivors in a tough market, Ilium just battle on and continue to release quality CDs, like this their latest.

Ilium has had a change in vocalist for their newest and fourth CD Ageless Decay, with the position now filled by Mike DiMeo formerly of Masterplan(the band led by Roland Grapow), and he is certainly a great addition to Ilium's skillful line-up on this recording. The two remaining original members guitarist, Jason Hodges and Adam Smith (Guitar, bass and keyboards), are joined again by able drummer Tim Yatras. Like Vespertilion, Ageless Decay also has some engaging artwork, this attention to detail being another area that Ilium excels in, from the cover art to the haunting booklet contents. Also of note, Ageless Decay was mixed and mastered by the legendary Tommy Hansen, so it's no wonder it sounds so very good.

Opening with "Mothcaste", the first of many stirring tracks on Ageless Decay, one of those catchy power metal tunes that hook you from the start. "Mothcaste" tells of a tormented creature of the night, craving for light but forced to stay in the darkness for fear of the sun. The lyrics from each song make for an interesting read, with many different tales as you listen to Ilium's creations. Predictable is a word you can't use to describe Ilium's music, like track six "Nubia Awakes" which is quite different and very enjoyable. Next track is "Ageless Decay" , featuring some killer guitar work, and one of Ageless Decay's faster numbers.

Jason and Adam know how to craft a memorable CD; I truly enjoyed all the songs on here, which is something I can't always say about many releases that we come across these days. Ilium's Ageless Decay really is the complete package and one of 2009's best metal CDs, and hopefully the same line-up will feature on their next release.

Track list:
2.Hibernal Thaw
3.Tar Pit
6.Nubia Awakes
7.Ageless Decay
8.Eocene Dawning
9.Fragmented Glory
10.The Neo Mortician
11.The Little Witch Of Madagascar

Added: August 26th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2262
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by