Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Acid Drinkers: High Proof Cosmic Milk (remaster)

Poland's Acid Drinkers have been enjoying a pretty successful run in their native country and with almost fifteen full length albums to their credit they must be doing something right. High Proof Cosmic Milk originally released in 1998 by Metal Mind and now reissued by the very same label, was their 8th album of crossover / thrash metal.

Forgetting for a moment that some of the song titles and lyrics do look a tad silly, it doesn't take away from the fact that these guys do manage to pack quite a wallop musically. Ok it's not exactly original but there's plenty of old school styled thrash to get excited about on this nicely packaged reissue. In fact one of the things that appealed to me about this album straight off was the feeling of reckless abandon running through it. Songs like "Human Bazooka" and "What's Happenin' In The Heart of a Pacifist" feature a straight ahead thrash attack as vocalist Tytus delivers plenty of snarling verbiage overtop the twin guitars of Lica and Popcorn. The raw sounding production also helps contribute to the feeling that this high speed train could go off the tracks at any given moment. It isn't all about speed though as they change things up on the track "Dementia Blvd" by slowing down the tempo and even adding a bit of a funkier influence into the breakdown section. In fact the funky rhythm section gets a nice workout in on "Blind Leadin' The Blind" as well which has a distinct Red Hot Chilli Peppers vibe to it. The cover of CCR's "Proud Mary" is interesting but ultimately it doesn't add much to the album.

This is pretty decent and entertaining effort from beginning to end, and as long as you're not looking for anything groundbreaking then High Proof Cosmic Milk will deliver the goods. That being said I don't think it's the type of album to keep you coming back for more. It's pretty much a spin it a few times and then file it kind of album.

Track Listing
1) Rattlesnake Blues
2) Human Bazooka
3) High Proof Cosmic Milk
4) What's Happenin' In the Heart of a Pacifist
5) More Life
6) Be My Godzilla
7) Dementia Blvd.
8) Blind Leadin' The Blind
9) Gain on Shit
10) Proud Mary (bonus track)
11 ) Sad Like A Coal Check
12) Blind Leadin' The Blind (demo version)
13) Blustery Nite Tour

Added: August 25th 2009
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 1825
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by