Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Skyfire: Esoteric

Falling somewhere between progressive metal, death metal, power metal, and symphponic black metal lies Esoteric, the latest CD from Sweden's Skyfire. Esoteric is the first release in five years from Skyfire, and also brings about two new members, Joakim Karlsson on vocals, and guitarist Johan Reinholdz, who also plays with progressive metal juggernauts Andromeda. They join standing members Martin Hanner (Bass, Keyboards), Andreas Edlund (Guitars, Keyboards), and Joakim Jonsson (Drums) in what is ultimately a very powerful and confident line-up.

After the symphonic opening strains of "Deathlike Overture", the pace begins with the bombastic title track, fueled by crunchy riffs, sweeping keyboards, and the effective vocal growls from Karlsson. The presence of Reinholdz is immediately felt here, as his tasty solos and intricate riffs alongside Edlund in tunes such as "Let the World Burn", "Ride and Decay", and the more epic tracks "Darkness Descending", "Misery Supremacy", and "The Legacy of the Defeated" never fail to impress. The key here though is the melodic stance most of these songs take, each track instantly memorable yet just brutal enough to please the extreme crowd. Fans of Dimmu Borgir will love the keyboard tapestries that adorn these tunes, and guitar fans will certainly appreciate the endless supply of crunchy riffage and melodic leads. Throw in some complex rippers like "Seclusion" and "Under a Pitch Black Sky", and you have the makings for an exciting progressive metal feast.

Produced by Scar Symmetry/Centinex guitarist Jonas Kjellgren, Esoteric is a powerful sounding CD that bridges the gap between majesty and brutality quite nicely, but in the end it's the songs and musicianship that are the real stars here. The potential for greatness in the Skyfire camp has begun with Esoteric, so make sure you check this out if you love the best of acts such as Arch Enemy, Dimmu Borgir, Dark Tranquility, Scar Symmetry, and Mercenary.

Track Listing
01. Deathlike Overture (Intro)
02. Esoteric
03. Rise And Decay
04. Let The Old World Burn
05. Darkness Descending
06. Seclusion
07. Misery's Supremacy
08. Under A Pitch Black Sky
09. Linger In Doubt
10. The Legacy Of The Defeated
11. Within Reach [bonus]

Added: August 25th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band's MySpace page
Hits: 4764
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Skyfire: Esoteric
Posted by Edgar Ginola on 2009-08-27 19:01:45
My Score:

Amazing album!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by