Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tilt: Million Dollar Wound (EP)

Tilt are a new band and have released their debut EP Million Dollar Wound. The core of the band consists of Steve Vantsis (bass), Dave Stewart (drums), Robin Boult (guitars) and Irvin Duguid (keyboards) with some help from Frank Usher and John Wesley on guitars and lead vocalists Paul Dourley, Kaela Rowan and Holly Tomas with Lorna Bannon providing background vocals.

Vantsis is perhaps best known for his writing and arranging on Fish's last release 13th Star. He did an excellent job on that album and has carried on with his latest project. The album, although short at just over thirty minutes, has much to offer over the course of its five songs. This is classic rock in the truest sense and is done very well. The use of acoustic and electric guitars throughout the album produces many fine moments of delicate passages and crunchy rhythms and keyboards gives the music the right amount of atmosphere and moodiness. The vocals are another strong point with three tracks having a female lead and the remaining two sung by Dourley.

The album opens with the heavy rocking "No Superman", a song clearly written in the spirit of classic rock. Dourley has a strong voice well suited for heavy bluesy rock. The band slows down the tempo with the acoustically driven "Long Gone" featuring soothing background vocals, airy acoustic guitar and dreamy keyboards reminding me of Dreamboat Annie era Heart making this one of the albums best songs. More dreamlike passages can be found in the melodic "Gravity", again reminding me of classic Heart with excellent vocals by Holly Tomas and a nice blend of acoustic and electric guitar.

With the last two songs also of high quality, we have the makings of a very strong EP. Although short in length, Tilt have much to offer fans of well crafted classic rock. If they continue along a similar path for their next album, hopefully a full length effort, there should be lots to look forward to indeed.

Track Listing:
1. No Superman (4:35)
2. Long Gone (5:54)
3. Gravity (5:19)
4. Answers (7:54)
5. Adore (7:21)

Added: August 13th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 3608
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by