Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

801: Live @ Hull

Taken from their 1977 concert tour, Live @ Hull, makes a nice companion in the 801 live concert series. Although similar song wise to the Manchester CD there are a few notable exceptions namely the absence of Lol Crème, Kevin Godley and Eddie Jobson and the addition of Eddie Jobson. I found this to be a slightly grittier performance, maybe not quite as polished as on the Manchester CD and I do miss Andy Mackay's saxophone. Still, this is another very good CD and still sounds good to these ears. The band demonstrates plenty of energy through these fourteen songs probably making some of the punk bands at the time green with envy.

Starting with "Lagrima", a short instrumental featuring guitar feedback ala Jimi Hendrix, you just know this was a special night of live music. Next is a haunting version of "T.N.K. (Tomorrow Never Knows)" taking The Beatles classic to new heights again (see my review of Manchester).

The album's longest song, at over eleven minutes, is the guitar infested "City Of Light" with its stabbing lead guitar, sinuous bass lines and pounding drums creating one of the concerts more progressive moments. Manzanera really shows his experimental side on this one and MacCormick's bass playing is top notch.

Another highlight is the instrumental "Initial Speed" with more great bass and the keyboards of Skinner adding subtle touches throughout. The cymbal work of Thompson also stands out. The psychedelic rock of "Diamond Head" features Manzanera's intense leads and standout drumming from Thompson showing he can really pummel the skins when he wants to.

One the album's best songs is a frenetic version of the Roxy Music standout "Out Of The Blue" where all band members show their best stuff including great electric violin from Jobson. So there you have it. Although I felt the sound quality was not quite as good on this album the band more than makes up for it in pure energy and enthusiasm. Another solid 3.5 star release.

Track Listing:
1. Lagrima
2. T.N.K.
3. Flight 19
4. Listen Now
5. Law And Order
6. City Of Light
7. Initial Speed
8. That Falling Feeling
9. Diamond Head
10. Out Of The Blue
11. Remote Control
12. Miss Shapiro
13. You Really Got Me

Added: August 13th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2818
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by