Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Miriodor: Avanti!

What's left to be said about Miriodor that hasn't been said here and on just about every progressive rock review site throughout the web? Once heralded as "Montreal's best kept progressive rock secret", I think it is now safe to assume that the cat is out of the bag and people everywhere have come to realise that Miriodor is a musical juggernaut that just can't be stopped. With Avanti!, the band's seventh release, they merely managed to distance themselves from the competition by an even wider margin

Having nothing to prove musically, the band released an album that proves everything. There was an old business axiom that was short-lived in the early 1990s that claimed that if it ain't broke, break it. Miriodor may have done just that. They had what might have been perceived as a formula with their quirky, off-kilter, short tracks. To use a mathematical analogy to illustrate a point, it was as if they were merely showing us the answers without giving us a glimpse at the work itself. On Avanti!, however, their approach is the complete opposite. With the shortest track clocking in at 6:35, Miriodor have decided to show the world that they can master the long-form composition with the same playfulness and musical dexterity which has been synonymous with their name since the 80s. The seven tracks assembled here offer up everything the band's fanbase has ever liked about the group and more. Where certain tracks on previous albums might have given up on a musical idea before it had reached its full potential, the songs on this latest release seem to push the ideas presented to their logical end. The stellar musicianship is given ample room to fully express itself and the results speak for themselves.

The most ambitious Miriodor release to date, Avanti! delivers everything it sets out to. This band has seemed to have had a musical vision since its inception and this latest disc merely pushes the envelope even further. One of the best albums in their discography and one of my favorites from 2009. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:

  1. Envoûtement (Bewitchment) 9:13
  2. Bolide Débile (Dare Devil) 8:40
  3. La Roche (Meeting Point) 9:12
  4. Ecart-type (Standard Deviation) 6:35
  5. A Déterminer (To Be Determined) 10:24
  6. Avanti! (Avanti!) 9:13
  7. Réveille-matin (Shadow Of The Alarm Clock) 7:54

Added: August 10th 2009
Reviewer: Yves Dubé
Related Link:
Hits: 3163
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by