Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Bayley, Blaze: The Night That Will Not Die

This live recording of the Blaze Bayley band took place on December 13th 2008 at the Z7 in Pratteln, Switzerland and will also be issued as a DVD set. The tour in support of The Man Who Would Not Die has so far taken them to South America and all across Europe amidst a turbulent year of highs and lows that tragically saw Blaze's wife and manager Debbie pass away in September. This release is dedicated to Debbie and proves to be a fitting tribute.

A dramatic opening sees the band kick off with a triple assault of 'The Man Who Would Not Die', 'Blackmailer' and 'Smile Back At Death' with Blaze's raw energy feeding off the frenzied crowd. The sound is consistently good throughout with all of the instruments clear in the mix and Blaze's voice strong and powerful without being overbearing. Blaze Bayley are now very much a band project and with the twin guitars of Jay Walsh and Nico Bermudez, drummer Lawrence Paterson, and bass player David Bermudez, Blaze appears to have found a settled line-up that can deliver both live and in the studio. Between song banter is kept to a minimum in a set that draws from throughout his solo career but unsurprisingly with a bias towards the latest release. The Maiden years are revisited for the quartet of 'Futureal', 'Lord of the Flies', 'Edge of Darkness' and 'Man on the Edge' and they sit comfortably with the metallic assault of the later material. With an autobiography also due before the end of the year the Blaze Bayley story continues to unfold and this latest instalment is a very worthy addition.

Track Listing
01. The Man Who Would Not Die
02. Blackmailer
03. Smile Back At Death
04. Alive
05. Identity
06. Kill And Destroy
07. Ghost In The Machine
08. Ten Seconds
09. Futureal
10. The Launch
11. Lord Of The Flies
12. Leap Of Faith
13. Edge Of Darkness
14. Crack In The System
15. Voices From The Past
16. Stare At The Sun
17. Born As A Stranger
18. Man On The Edge
19. While You Were Gone
20. Samurai
21. Robot

Added: August 7th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Blaze Website
Hits: 1507
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by