Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Saga: Contact-Live in Munich (DVD/CD)

Filmed during Saga's 30th Anniversary tour, Contact-Live in Munich also marks founding member and lead vocalist Michael Sadler's final fling with the band. In fact, this concert in Munich, Germany was to be Sadler's final show with the Canadian prog rock act. The band has since gone on and found a replacement in Rob Moratti, and released a new CD The Human Condition, but for many, Michael Sadler will always be the voice of Saga, which he more then proves on this spectacular final performance with the band. Contact is a complete show , jam-packed with all the signature Saga songs from their lengthy 30 year career, complete with spectacular sound and camera work. In addition, this set comes with a bonus DVD featuring interview snippets and footage from another live show from the same tour, filmed in Mannheim. If that's not enough, you also get 2 CDs containing the entire Munich concert, which you can carry around on your iPod or crank on your car stereo system.

The main set here is quite enjoyable, if not a little emotional, Sadler in fine form fronting this very talented band for the last time as they tear into hits like "On the Loose", "You're Not Alone", "I'm OK", "The Flyer", "Time's Up", "Careful Where You Step", "Wind Him Up", "10,000 Days", "Humble Stance", "That's As Far As I'll Go", "Don't Be Late", and many others. Want plenty of searing guitar and keyboard exchanges? Well, there's lots of that on display from Ian Chrichton and Jim Gilmour throughout this set, and the band's mix of prog rock and catchy pop is on display in full force on every song.

Honestly, this is a stellar set put together here by the folks at SPV/InsideOut. Not only is the design of the DVD/CD set well thought out, but the artwork by Warren Flanagan is top notch, and the booklet is packed with great color photos.

End result is a quality send-off to Michael Sadler, and a great snapshot of this often overlooked band who show here a body of work that stacks up right alongside any of the heavyweights of the genre.

Track Listing
1. The Interview
2. That's As Far As I'll Go
3. You're Not Alone
4. I'm OK
5. Can't You See Me Now
6. Book Of Lies
7. The Perfectionist
8. Drum Solo
9. The Flyer
10. Mind Over Matter
11. The Security Of Illusion
12. Time's Up
13. Piano Solo
14. Scratching the Surface
15. We've Been Here Before
16. On The Air
17. On The Loose
18. Careful Where You Step
19. 10,000 Days
20. Wind Him Up
21. Humble Stance
22. Don't Be Late
23. What's It Gonna Be Tonight?

Added: July 30th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3648
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by