Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Return to Forever: Returns-Live at Montreux 2008 (DVD)

If you own the live 2CD set of Return to Forever's 2008 reunion tour, you'll no doubt want to grab this electrifying live DVD, recorded from their performance at the famous Montreux Jazz Festival on the same tour. That's the great thing about this release, instead of just releasing video performances from the shows culled for the CD, this is an actual full gig from Montreux, and the band is positively sizzling. Though it is the same set list, Return to Forever seem even more pumped up to be playing at the legendary festival, as they tear through such classics as "Romantic Warrior", "Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy" (one of the heaviest jazz-rock tunes ever recorded!), "No Mystery", "Vulcan Worlds", and others, in front of a truly mesmerized crowd. The individual virtuosity of the players is awe inspiring-Chick Corea, Al DiMeola, Stanley Clarke, and Lenny White, all superstars on their own, and together make this one of the greatest all-star ensembles ever to take the stage. Expect plenty of superhuman guitar solos from DiMeola (who you might say tries to overplay on a few occasions), wonderful layers from the magical Corea, Clarke's muscular yet slippery funk grooves, and the tight drum fills from White. The show also includes solos from each of the musicians, the best probably being Clarke's on upright bass, as he coaxes all sorts of sounds and speedy runs out of his instrument that will surely blow your mind.

As a bonus, you also get a few tracks from a show in Florida, though why they chose to mainly include the solo sections again is beyond me, though you do get a stirring rendition of "Duel of the Jester and the Tyrant", which is not included on the Montreux set. The sound on the DVD is superb, and the production quality of the video outstanding. If you are a fan of this band, this will be a no-brainer addition to your DVD library, and if you missed them on the tour, then this is the next best thing to being there.

Track Listing
Main Show - Montreux 2008
1) Introduction
2) Hymn Of The Seventh Galaxy
3) Vulcan Worlds
4) Sorceress
5) Song To The Pharaoh Kings
6) Al's Solo
7) No Mystery
8) Chick's Solo
9) Romantic Warrior
10) El Bayo de Negro (Stanley's Solo)
11) Lineage (Lenny's Solo)
12) Romantic Warrior (conclusion)
Bonus Tracks - Clearwater 2008
1) Lineage (Lenny's Solo)
2) Al's Solo
3) Friendship (Chick's Solo)
4) El Bayo de Negro (Stanley's Solo)
5) Duel Of The Jester And The Tyrant

Added: July 8th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2021
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by