Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Maiden: Flight 666

Now that you have enjoyed the Iron Maiden documentary Flight 666 and learned about the bands journey around the world in behalf of the Metal way, and then took a healthy amount of time watching the full concert that was provided as the second DVD in the release, you might find yourself going on a bit of a Maiden craze. It's easy to see this happening based on the interesting aspect of the documentary and then the kick ass full show that one gets to enjoy and lucky for everyone the folks at Universal Music have delivered the audio companion to the release that gives you every single song from the concert video on two CD's. To recap for those just walking into the studio, Iron Maiden had embarked on their "Somewhere Back In Time" tour and get to each city and country was flying their own plane. Pretty cool eh? The shows were a celebration of the bands material from the Number Of The Beast through the Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son releases and also to promote the outstanding concert film Live After Death which was finally available on DVD. For those who were a part of the audiences that were in attendance and entertained by these Metal masters, they can easily report that these shows were perhaps the most exciting of the year's offerings. This is a CD that is meant to be blasted loud and will most certainly shall be something that finds repeating whether it be on your stereo or in the hard drive spinning on your music player.

Musically this captures the entire set that was performed on the tour and if you are the owner of a copy of the original Live After Death album you will find a lot of similar numbers delivered on Flight 666. The other thing that you will notice is how the band actually seems to sound stronger and heavier than ever on the new recording and that is pretty admirable for a band that is delivering this some twenty-five years after the other one. The guitars are dueling and the drums are non-stop thunder while the vocals of Bruce Dickinson are accompanied by hordes of Metal's forces from all around the world. It's quite the experience. The other great thing about this album is that it gives the next generation of Metal fans their own version of the Live After Death CD that has been honored for so many years. Yes Iron Maiden has released about seven live recordings over the course of there career, but this one is clearly the best since that legendary one and I feel that it will also go down in the annals of Metal history. A booklet is included that features the complete flight plans of Ed Force One and also presents a number of photos from the shows. Liner notes come care of the thoughts of bassist Steve Harris, and let's face it, who is going to be better at providing some insight on the band than he? Be sure to grab a copy of this for your Maiden collection and if you have yet to see the movie then set aside time to do so. After that you can put in the DVD for Live After Death again to compare the two distinct eras. That Metal time well spent if you ask me, have fun.

Track Listing:
1. Churchill Speech
2. Aces High
3. 2 Minutes To Midnight
4. Revelations
5. The Trooper
6. Wasted Years
7. The Number Of The Beast
8. Can I Play With Madness
9. Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
10. Powerslave
11. Heaven Can Wait
12. Run To The Hills
13. Fear Of The Dark
14. Iron Maiden
15. Moonchild
16. The Clairvoyant
17. Hallowed Be Thy Name

Added: July 5th 2009
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2182
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by