Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet Cyanide: Sweet Cyanide

Debut self-titled 10 song effort from this NY-based four piece who have emerged as the result of a collaboration between two NYC bands, Crashbox and Moment Theory. Sweet Cyanide is an album that pays homage to some of the glam-rock scene of the70's (Bowie, Mott The Hoople, T.Rex, KISS) and give it a dark and modern edge that veers towards alternative rock with plenty of sleaze.

Vocalist Sal Scoca has a frazzled delivery that stands out amongst all of the driving riffs and pounding rhythms to give Sweet Cyanide an identifiable sound that is all of their own. For the most part the songs are up-tempo and filled with radio friendly hooks and melodies that would have been guaranteed to have generated the band a mountain of airplay back in the 80's. It's a relatively simple formula that delivers exactly what you would expect and the closing number, the mellow and reflective 'When We Were Young' is a real gem. There is plenty to like about Sweet Cyanide and this is well worth checking out.

Track Listing
Crash Theory
Black & White
American Me
Certain Shadows On The Wall
Heart Breaker
Between Us
I Wish U Would
Under The Sun
When We Were Young

Added: July 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1990
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by