Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tygers Of Pan Tang: Animal Instinct x 2

Angel Air marks their 300th release with this deluxe CD/DVD repackaging of 2008's Animal Instinct from NWOBHM stalwarts Tygers Of Pan Tang. Aside from being the most notable band to come out of Whitley Bay, the Tygers are perhaps best known for providing John Sykes with his first step on the ladder that would eventually take him to Thin Lizzy and Whitesnake. The Tygers also enjoyed some chart success in their own right back in the 80's with both debut album Wild Cat (1980) and The Cage (1983) breaking into the UK Top 20 and their cover version of Leiber and Stoller's 'Love Potion Number 9' just missing out on the Top 40. The current line-up finds guitarist Rob Weir as the sole surviving original member and he is joined by second guitarist Dean Robertson, bassist Brian West, drummer Craig Ellis and Italian vocalist Jacoppo Meille. Meille has proven to be an excellent choice of frontman and as evidenced by the strong reviews on its initial release Animal Instinct genuinely finds the band recapturing some of the confidence and swagger of old with gritty riffs and up-tempo melodies. This new version is enhanced by the addition of bonus tracks including the aforementioned 'Love Potion No 9', 'Gangland' and Whitley Bay football teams cup final anthem 'Live For The Bay' which is itself a reinterpretation of Tygers live favourite 'Live For The Day'. The DVD is a vibrant hour or so of the band in a Berlin TV studio trawling through their back catalogue including 'Suzi Smiled' and a sprinkling of newer material.

The Tygers were never the most ground breaking band of the NWOBHM but they always played with a sense of fun and it is refreshing to see that more than thirty years since their formation they have retained this quality. If you have never purchased a Tygers album then it is still not too late and Animal Instinct is as good a place as any to start.

Track Listing
CD - Animal Instinct:
1. Rock Candy
2. Cry Sweet Freedom
3. Live For The Day
4. Let It Burn
5. If You See Kay
6. Hot Blooded
7. Devils Find A Fool
8. Winners & Losers
9. Crusin
10. Bury The Hatchet
11. Dark Rider

12. Don't Say Rock'n'Roll Is Gonna Die
13. Love Potion No 9
14. Raised On Rock
15. Gangland
16. Live For The Bay [Whitley Bay Cup Final Song]

DVD - Live From Berlin Studios 2008:
1. Intro
2. Hellbound
3. Take It
4. Live For The Day
5. Raised On Rock
6. Suzi Smiled
7. Bury The Hatchet
8. Interview
9. Rock'n'Roll Man
10. Slave To Freedom
11. Euthanasia
12. Love Potion No 9
13. Gangland

14. Scrapbook Footage Europe 2008

Added: June 24th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3311
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by