Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cerebral Fix: Bastards

Metal Mind Productions does it once more. They have given those who want to hear the history of metal music a chance to get reacquainted with one of the better, yet almost unheard of thrash bands from Birmingham, England, Cerebral Fix. The reissue of their best work Bastards gets an addition to it as Metal Mind also gives you a chance to hear them live in concert with seven tracks taken from the London Bootleg disc.

While the original disc is one furious thrash metal treat with 13 cuts of pure six sting guitar pounding along with the snarling, growling vocals of Simon Forrest, the additional material recorded live is interesting in what it depicts but the poor quality of the recording makes this portion something for the die hard fans mostly.

The original album Bastards, is a high energy slice of thrash that continuously blast you from the opening title track "Bastards" right up to the time they decide enough is enough with the closer "Smash It Up". Along the way, they simply attack you with an unrelenting brutal display of detuned guitar bedlam. They don't cover any new territory on this disc, but the ground they do inhabit is left a burning, scorched patch of Earth. From the fast paced energy of "Veil Of Tears" and the frantic "No Survivors" and to the slower Black Sabbath like "Beyond Jerusalem" "Mammonite" (My personal favorite), these guys keep things interesting for much of the disc. Just be prepared for some serious head banging because that is exactly what you will be doing for the duration of this CD!

As I stated, the added live stuff on here is of rather dubious quality and is something that fans of the band will enjoy but most others will skip over quickly. It does show the intensity of the band on stage but I would much rather hear them with better quality production.

All in all, this is a good piece of thrash history that will find itself in your player on more than a few occasions. It is a worthwhile purchase that I am glad to have been given the chance to hear again.

Track listing:

1. Bastards
2. Descent IntoThe Unconsciousness
3. Veil Of Tears
4. Beyond Jerusalem
5. Return To Infinity
6. Sphereborn
7. I Lost A Friend
8. Ritual Abuse
9. Mammonite
10. Middle Third
11. Maimed To Beg
12. No Surviviors
13. Smash It Up
14. Warmstorm
15. Tower Of Spite
16. Feast Of The Fools
17. Descent Into The Unconsciousness
18. Veil Of Tears
19. Culte Of Tears
20. Chasten Of Fear

Added: June 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 3179
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by