Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tank: Filth Hounds Of Hades

In the world of heavy metal war, some bands come at you like an air squadron, hitting you with precise pinpoint accuracy. Others run over you and smash you to pieces like a tank! There is little doubt as to what type of assault you are going to get from these boys. Their heavy metal thunder is a raging storm in this re-release by Metal Mind Productions.

Filth Hounds Of Hades is the debut album from these guys and to me, still ranks as some of their best work. Their raw, in your face style, which is often compared to Motorhead, comes at you with all the sonic finesse of a sledgehammer. This is considered one of the best of the NWOBHM albums and thanks to Metal Mind, it has not fallen into obscurity.

With such gritty moments as the opener "Shellshock" and "T.W.D.A.M.O", Filth Hounds established Tank as one of the strongest bands to emerge in the 80's. While never reaching the popularity of some of their counterparts, Tank never surrendered their pure, energetic sound that was so evident on this first release. This has been one of the albums that always seems to get pulled out at any party or gathering at my house.

The fury of tunes like "Run Like Hell" and the title track "Filth Hounds Of Hades" is the perfect soundtrack for you riotous gatherings when heads will be banging and feet will be stomping. These guys know how to rock and roll with unbridled ferocity and it comes through loud and clear each time you put on this disc.

Metal Mind gives you an added bonus on this disc with some alternate versions, live cuts and B-sides. Unlike other albums where they have included such things, this time the music does add to the original release instead of being an annoyance to skip over. "Hammer On" and "The Snake" are two add-ons that make this CD a worthwhile purchase.

Sit back and let the Tank boys barrage of metal destroy all within the surrounding area of your speakers. Definitely one that will clean out the cobwebs and maybe even the sinuses too!!

Track listing:

1. Shellshock
2. Struck By Lightning
3. Run Like Hell
4. Blood, Guts & Beer
5. T.W.D.A.M.O.
6. Turn Your Head Around
7. Heavy Artillery
8. Who Needs Love Songs
9. Filth Hounds Of Hades
10. (He Fell In Love With A) Stormtrooper

Bonus Tracks

11. Don't Walk Away
12. Shellshock (Alternative version)
13. Hammer On
14. Don't Walk Away (Live)
15. The Snake
16. (He Fell In Love With A) Stormtrooper (Alternative version)
17. Blood, Guts & Beer (Live)
18. Steppin' On A Landmind

Added: June 3rd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2453
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by