Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tank: War Of Attrition Live 1981

These guys may not be the most widely known metal band in the world and for that matter, I cannot call them the best but they are a highly entertaining group that gives you 100% every time out and that is very evident on this live disc where they get a chance to crank it out before an audience. You can tell that the band is in its element on stage as each song is pumped to maxim speed and vocalist Algy Ward had me checking to see if I had slipped in a Motorhead disc by mistake. Still this is not what I would call a stand out disc by any means. It is a good slice of the Tank pie but a very mixed bag at best.

This album shows the band in all their heavy metal glory. Guitarist Pete Brabbs pulls out all the stops and delivers some terrific work but after awhile it seems that they are treading on all too familiar ground. There is a sameness to the music that makes most of the disc one that will gather a layer of dust before you decide to pull it out for another spin.

There are some very good moments on the album but overall this is one that is for the Tank fanatics only.

Metal Mind has as usual packed the disc with bonus tracks and added songs. This time they include some very unnecessary demos and four additional live tracks taken from a concert recorded roughly a year later. The main complaint is the repetition. There is really no reason for three versions of the song "Blood, Guts and Beer"!

While I have enjoyed most of the re-releases of the Tank catalogue, this one is not on the must have list. It is a decent album but that is the best that I can give it. These guys have done much better work and I would have to say that you might want to look elsewhere for you dose of Tank.

Track Listing:

1. Shellshock
2. Steppin' On A Landmind
3. Blood, Guts And Beer
4. Run Like Hell
5. Don't Walk Away
6. Filth Hounds Of Hades
7. Stormtrooper
8. The Snake
9. Shellshock (Demo)
10. Run Like Hell (Demo)
11. Blood, Guts and Beer (Demo)
12. Hammer ON (Radio Session)
13. Don't Walk Away (Radio Session)
14. Heavy Artillery (Radio Session)
15. T.W.D.A.M.O.
16. Blood, Guts and Beer
17. Too Tired To Wait For Love (Demo)
18. Man Who Never Was (Demo)

Added: May 22nd 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 2865
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by