Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Acid Drinkers: Fishdick (remaster)

Poland's premier thrash band Acid Drinkers took some leisure time in 1994 to record this album of covers called Fishdick, now remastered and reissued by Metal Mind Productions. The label has done a great job with the Acid Drinkers back catalog so far, though I'm not sure the metal world has been screaming for a re-release of this lackluster covers collection. Basically, the band members all came together with a list of songs that each wanted to tackle, and this set was the result. As you scroll through the song list, there are some mega tracks here, like Motorhead's "Ace of Spades", Black Sabbath's "N.I.B.", "Deuce" from KISS, Deep Purple's "Highway Star", AC/DC's "Whole Lotta Rosie", and "Another Brick in the Wall" by Pink Floyd. However, there's really nothing special about any of these renditions, other than it sounds like the band took a real lighthearted approach and didn't take these sessions too seriously. Many follow a similar path to the original arrangements, though "Whole Lotta Rosie" is severly trashed out, and the Pink Floyd cover has somewhat of a metal edge. The most fun piece here by far is the band's version of Slade's "Run Run Away", given a real punk edge that almost makes you want to grab a beer and jump out into the mosh pit.

End result here is a covers set that fails to hit the mark by a long shot. The vocals are weak, the playing marginally interesting, and the production a product of the times. The remaster package also doesn't contain much info on the making of this CD, though lyrics are included, which is odd considering that these are all cover tunes. If you are a long time fan of Acid Drinkers, by all means you'll want to have this, but if not there's no real reason to go any further.

Track Listing
1. Ace Of Spades
2. Oh, no! Bruno
3. Deuce
4. N.I.B
5. Another Brick In The Wall
6. Whole Lotta Rosie
7. Run Run away
8. Fuckin' The Tiger
9. Highway Star
10. Ballada
11. N.I.B (radio edit) (bonus)

Added: May 18th 2009
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: band Website
Hits: 1743
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by