Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hacride: Lazarus

French Metaller's, Hacride, have returned with their 3rd full length, Progressive/Tech Metal CD entitled Lazarus (Listenable Records). Lazarus is a 7 track release from one of the bands pushing the envelope of extreme Metal and the mere fact that they have opened this CD with a 15 minute Progressive opus, should shake things up. Lazarus shows Hacride living up to their potential with this powerful and brutal record.

With a killer production in tow, Lazarus is a great representation of the growth of this powerhouse band with both songwriting, as well as musical performances. All of the technical soundscapes that have become Hacride's trademark are there in spades and with an even more defined ferociousness. Hacride obviously felt that they had something to prove on Lazarus and judging by the monstrous and seamless way that these songs just flow together, they have raised the bar for this genre. Lazarus has the feel of a concept record. It has an ebb and flow to it that takes you on a ride from start to finish. With technical focus and attention to great songwriting with sublime nuances, Hacride have made this a great listen. Lazarus is one hell of a ride.

15 minute CD opener, "To Walk Among Them" sets up the kind of imagery and savage brutality that can be expected for the rest of this record. And second track, "Act of God" even steps up the sheer power and groove that are Hacride. Bombastic and just pure uber heavy, this is the shit! The title track, "Lazarus" opens with an Opeth-ish acoustic intro that serves as a great calm before the storm and then launches headlong into to some great riffing and powerful chest pounding Progressive Metal to its fullest.

Hacride have taken no prisoners with this effort and with just 7 seven songs clocking in at just a smidge under 60 minutes, this is a great trip into heavy Progressive/Technical Metal world that Hacride continue to deliver. Lazarus is both heavy and thoughtful and does show a lot of musical growth by the band on their way to another great effort. Not exactly for the faint of heart, but if you are up to the challenge, strap in because it's a great ride!

Track Listing
1. To Walk Among Them
2. Act Of God
3. Lazarus
4. Phenomenon
5. A World Of Lies
6. Awakening
7. My Enemy

Added: May 18th 2009
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 2869
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by