Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Slough Feg: Ape Uprising!

Album number seven from the band who took elements of folk and metal and fused the two together when they started out back in the early-90's. Critically acclaimed for much of their career Slough Feg have never broken out of the underground in the way that, for example, Mastodon have recently succeeded in doing although it is probably fair to say that is just the way they like it. Ape Uprising! finds Slough Feg taking an extremely heavy approach and it makes an immediate impact with its cover artwork that seems to have been lifted from the punk/hardcore scene of the 80's and is totally at odds with the actual music to be found inside.

Opener 'The Hunchback of Notre Doom' is something of a departure in that it finds the band with their feet squarely in the doom metal camp and this followed by the fairly unremarkable 'Overborne' which makes for an uncertain start to the album. When it finally seems to get going is with the ten minute title track which has Mike Scalzi and Angelo Tringali in sparkling duelling form, with galloping riffs leading the way as the song evolves into a metal epic. From here on the momentum never really lets up and, continuing the 'ape' theme, 'Simian Manifesto' and 'Ape Outro' are both genuine highlights. Albums these days tend to extend to an hour or more and take full advantage of the playing time available on a CD but Ape Uprising! comes to something of a premature end at just thirty seven minutes and eight tracks that leavers you feeling a little short-changed. But as their history evidences, Slough Feg are never going to be a band that conform to anything that resembles the mainstream and simply do things their own way. And with Ape Uprising! they sound as vital and important as ever, even if you get the feeling there is an inside joke here that those outside the band will never be a part of.

Track Listing
1 The Hunchback of Notre Doom 4:47
2 Overborne 2:53
3 Ape Uprising 10:02
4 Simian Manifesto 4:09
5 Shakedown At the Six 3:51
6 White Cousin 3:09
7 Ape Outro 3:17
8 Nasty Hero 5:25

Added: May 17th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 2058
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by