Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dimension Zero: He Who Shall Not Bleed

All star Swedish band, Dimension Zero, made up of Soilwork guitarist Daniel Antonsson, In Flames guitarist/bass player Jesper Stromblad, ex-Marduk member Jocke on vocals and Hans Nilsson (ex Liers in Wait) on drums, have released He Who Shall Not Bleed (Candlelight Records) here in the USA (originally released elsewhere in 2007) the bands 5th release (4th full length CD). This 13 track CD (including 2 bonus tracks) is aggressive and full of hyper fast blast beats for your headbanging/mosh pit pleasure. Dimension Zero are very much in the vein of old school Swedish Death Metal, complete with "cookie monster" type vocals. If you're into bands like At The Gates, early In Flames or even early Soilwork, then this could be your band.

He Who Shall Not Bleed is a brutal record. And I DO mean brutal. If fast and furious is what you strive for, then this is it. While the blast beats are a flying all over this record, Dimension Zero still manages to incorporate quite a bit of melodic personality into their songs. Quiet, down time passages (ala In Flames) find their way into songs like "Deny" and then pedal to metal barrages of drums pummel you into oblivion. But don't get me wrong here, this is very much a super fast Death/Thrash CD. Annihilator master guitar wielder, Jeff Waters, even shows up for some guest lead work throughout "He Who Shall Not Bleed" for that added heavy touch.

Overall Dimension Zero have a pretty good record with He Who Shall Not Bleed. This is not a groundbreaking record and a lot of it quite honestly sounds the same, but if you're looking for neck breaking Metal, then you probably won't care or even notice. The CD is superfast and delivers what this type of Metal is all about; power and speed. It should be mentioned that Dimension Zero does have a great sense of humor. The 2 bonus tracks included are a Death version of the '70's Bee Gee's Disco classic, "Staying Alive" and a Swedish children's song. I found the CD to pretty much roll itself into one big ball of sameness and nothing really grabbed me. Judge this one for yourself.

Track Listing
1. He Who Shall Not Bleed
2. Unto Others
3. Paler Shade Of White (A Darker Side Of Black)
4. Hell Is Within
5. Red Dead Heat
6. I Can Hear The Dark
7. Going Deep
8. Is
9. Deny
10. Was
11. Way To Shine
12. Staying Alive (Bonus Track)
13. Rovarvisan (Bonus Track)

Added: April 26th 2009
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 3052
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by