Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seven Day Hunt: File This Dream

Debut CD from this Dutch band formed from the remnants of Egdon Heath who called it a day back in 1999 after 18 years and four albums. Three of their former members, Jaap Mulder (keyboards), Aldo Adema (guitars) and Marcel Copini (bass) have been joined by newcomers Han Uil on vocals and Erik Koning on drums to form Seven Day Hunt. File This Dream has been an incredibly long time coming to fruition (almost eight years in fact) but proves to be well worth the wait as this is a marvellous example of an excellent modern prog album with some subtle nuances that hint at former glories.

The running time of the CD is just a few seconds short of seventy minutes but there is nothing here that doesn't merit inclusion. Kicking off the album is the longest track, 'No Plaster Saint', which is more than fourteen minutes long and takes in several changes of tempo and mood with some captivating keyboards from Mulder. It is one of two epics that bookend the album, the twelve minute 'In Delusion' being the other. This approach can sometimes mean that the songs in-between are all too easily overlooked but there is no chance of that occurring here with Seven Day Hunt ensuring that the quality remains consistently high throughout. The oceanic, ambient atmospherics that welcome 'The Noise' soon give way to powerful, crisp riffing and dynamic melody with Mulder's fluid solo again taking the song to even greater heights. The more diverse 'Money Speaks' is a modern retelling of the Alan Parsons Project's 'Money Talks' from 1987 and given a cutting lyric from Uil. Adema makes his presence more keenly felt on the title track with some distinctive soloing and the balance between all of the instruments allows enough space for everyone to shine where they should. The aforementioned 'In Delusion' has some hard edges which ebb and flow with more laid back, tranquil, touches that perfectly complement each other to ensure File This Dream delivers a stunning swansong. This is an album full of twists and turns with a cinematic feel that succeeds in taking the listener on a seamless journey from emotional passages to solid rock influences.

The whole package is rounded out by a very nice digipack with suitably left of centre artwork and it may have been a long wait but Seven Day Hunt have issued a very memorable debut. Let us hope it is not another eight years until they return.

Track Listing
01 No Plaster Saint
02 The Noise
03 Money Speaks
04 File This Dream
05 Red Stained Knife
06 Hidden Behind Myself
07 The Voice Inside
08 Etched
09 In Delusion

Added: April 26th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2304
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by